556,800 active members*
2,376 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    9

    Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    I would like to use 2 motors and 2 end stops on the Y-axis on my portal milling machine. my board is the MK3/9 with current firmware, how do I define these two motors including endstops in the settings? and how are the endstops used in homing using both.
    thanks Markus

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14146

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    Quote Originally Posted by Macwolf View Post
    I would like to use 2 motors and 2 end stops on the Y-axis on my portal milling machine. my board is the MK3/9 with current firmware, how do I define these two motors including endstops in the settings? and how are the endstops used in homing using both.
    thanks Markus
    No one should ever use end stops to home a machine, this puts unnecessary stress on the mechanical parts of the machine, Homing is normally done with a proximity switch or a Relay a proximity switch being the best choice
    Mactec54

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    the end stops used are inductive proximity switches, the question is how are the 2 motors addressed separately when homing?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14146

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    Quote Originally Posted by Macwolf View Post
    the end stops used are inductive proximity switches, the question is how are the 2 motors addressed separately when homing?
    There is normally a Homing routine that different controls use, which will home each switch separately, Proximity switches are not end stops, they are either a home switches or a limit switch's which also can do both, check with your control manual most controls have software that have homing routines for master and slave motors
    Mactec54

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    PLEASE NOTE: Before using the gantry square method, the user must configure the master and slave motor outputs and their corresponding limit switch inputs.

    Master slave axes have the same designation (Y) but how is it possible to assign this one axis to 2 limits? or do I have a misconception? if master (Y) and slave (other) then 2 limits are possible. as I said, how is this configured in TNG2?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1023

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    During gantry square routine motors are assigned letters U and V. Therefore you need to set limit switches for U and V.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    every homeming doesn't work? is another profile needed just for alignment?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Posts
    9

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    it works after aligning the portal. thanks

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Posts
    1

    Re: Two Motors and Endstops on one Axes

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    No one should ever use end stops to home a machine, this puts unnecessary stress on the mechanical parts of the machine, Homing is normally done with a proximity switch or a Relay a proximity switch being the best choice
    I agree with your answer.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2018, 10:35 PM
  2. Need help - two slave axes of two main axes?
    By georgem in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-17-2015, 03:04 AM
  3. RESOLVED! Mach3 MaxNC enabled = 1/4 speed motors , Disabled = no running motors.
    By BIWVince in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2013, 09:28 PM
  4. Stepper motors on all axes twitches every 2 seconds.
    By alexccmeister in forum Automation Technology Products
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-10-2008, 02:13 AM
  5. Belt Drive Gantry with STATIONARY motors for X and Y Axes
    By NEATman in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 04:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •