531,720 active members*
3,348 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    I recently purchased an old AXYZ Millenium router in very good mechanical condition. I've done some research before posting here and discovered, without surprise, that some of the electronics are a bit outdated. This did not come with a computer, or the original control software so I expected to have to buy some new "stuff". I haven't brought the router to my shop yet but went to the warehouse where I purchased it to take lots of photos for my research.

    Back when these machines were sold there was an option to set it up with steppers or servos. I'm assuming steppers but can not verify yet as they are enclosed and I forgot my tools in the other car. I'm going to post some of the photos I took in hopes of getting some guidance in bringing this machine a bit more into the modern era, and revealing some of the details that are eluding me.

    I am very interested in the UC300ETH-UB1 sold by cncroom.com . It seems like it shouldn't be too much trouble to bring this machine to life with said combo, which looks fantastic. There is a little wrinkle though, at least to my mind. This machine cam with a nice Elte spindle, and a very cool Desoutter afd415-2100 drill, both mounted. Pretty sweet deal! I would love to use this to add tapping operations to my setups where applicable. There is a Humphrey solenoid wired into the panel so I'm thinking they had this set up to do this or something similar.

    I would like to set things up using UCCNC with the new UC300ETH-UB1. My long winded question is, can I use the hardware/software combo that I'm after to replace the control portion of the old hardware/software? Will this allow me to utilize the pneumatic drill from g-code? Am I missing something? Photos to follow.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?


    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20180108_083047.jpg   20180113_112114.jpg  

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    Here's that sweet pneumatic drill, and spindle setup.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20180108_083237.jpg   20180108_083054.jpg  

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    Here are the guts, and where I'm a bit perplexed.



    Very nice of them to include this, but it hasn't helped me much in googleville.





    x, y, z stepper drivers?

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    Alright, the forum is currently not letting me post more photos. I'll try again later.

    In the main overview photo of the electronics, I'm hoping to replace the large board in the center, and what looks to be the main control board to the right of the center. I want to replace these two with the UC300ETH-UB1. It would be great if I could keep everything else, assuming that it's all functional.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35171

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    You can get UCCNC to control both spindles but it'll take some custom programming.
    I'm building a machine with two spindles, and plan on using the M6 macro to do the switching.

    Assign a tool # to the drill. During a tool change, check the tool #, and switch the appropriate outputs for the spindle you'll be using.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    You can get UCCNC to control both spindles but it'll take some custom programming.
    I'm building a machine with two spindles, and plan on using the M6 macro to do the switching.

    Assign a tool # to the drill. During a tool change, check the tool #, and switch the appropriate outputs for the spindle you'll be using.
    Thanks. I don't mind a little custom programming. I'm not currently familiar with Uccnc, but will soon complete the building of a computer for this machine, and then I'll demo the software.

    When you talk about switching the output are you referring to the code?

  8. #8
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35171

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    No, I was referring to the outputs that control the spindle.
    What you'd probably want to do is create an M code drill cycle, and call that from your g code. That might be a lot simpler.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Neuer Benutzer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    187

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    I was wondering how your conversion is going. I bought the other one that was for sale with this one. . I am converting to Mach 3. Perhaps we can share some notes!

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    23

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    +1 here on how it goes on your side with your conversion. Maybe we can help each other because I am looking to do something similar (using Mach3 with Vcarve instead of the ****ty program that came with it)
    AXYZ Millennium router CNC: https://goo.gl/gxvdcA
    Glass cutting CNC table: https://goo.gl/VrDqGD

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2

    Re: UC300ETH-UB1 to control axyz millenium?

    Hello, I'm at the start of the process and it would be very helpful to have your notes. If it helps, I have the English manual, which I could scan if needed. I have a preference for Mach3 that I know a little ...

Similar Threads

  1. Axyz millenium conversion
    By gijake in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-19-2018, 04:38 PM
  2. AXYZ MILLENIUM FAULT
    By salmonboats in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2014, 06:03 PM
  3. Need MC 9.0 Post for 1998 AXYZ Millenium
    By sharp_custom in forum Post Processors for MC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-30-2012, 08:16 PM
  4. AXYZ Millenium Question
    By sharp_custom in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 03:44 PM
  5. tool changing with AXYZ Millenium
    By frankbergeron in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-2007, 01:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •