504,444 active members
5,215 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > HURCO > Ultimax II Memory board batteries
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 36
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    116

    Ultimax II Memory board batteries

    Can anyone tell me the spec of these batteries? I need to source and order some for my dad's machine before I visit him next weekend. I made a note of them last time I was there, but of course I lost it...

    Thanks, Gregor

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Unless You have a modified board with external replaceable batteries, Ultimax2 memory board rely on the S-Rams for memory retention ( Batteries are in the S-Rams).
    Could the note You made last time be of some other component ??

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    116
    Thanks for the reply. It's not a modified board, just the later version with external lithium batteries. Even the boards with the dallas s-rams have the cutouts for batteries, they're just not there

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1028
    Have a look in the RS catalogue or go to RSWWW.com. They are 3.6v lithium AA size with solder tags.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    116
    Quote Originally Posted by bloke View Post
    Have a look in the RS catalogue or go to RSWWW.com. They are 3.6v lithium AA size with solder tags.
    Nice one, cheers!

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    152
    I checked my memory board
    and my KM3 is now 20 years old and still running with the Dallas S Rams.
    No problems yet.
    What can I do to keep it going ?
    I have no floppy or tape drive, so the program is all internal.
    Is it in these chips/batteries ?
    ANy comment is welcome
    Rich

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    13
    Rich,
    If is still OK after 20 Years, make a backup of Your screw map right away, there is a sequence to follow in order to get to that page " Enter ### Enter " from the start page ..I think ...?
    I`ve got all the procedures at the shop, somewhere, along with the Dallas equivalent S-Ram numbers.
    The master software is stored in the eproms on the board, opposite to the edge connector. I will try to find the procedure sometime next week so You can backup the screw mapping ( which You might need to do by hand )
    Just wander if You have a way of connecting a floppy to the controller, How many cards do you have in the rack ? Do You have a RS232 port ? :cheers::cheers:

    A.M.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    598

    Rich - Wow are you out on borrowed time!

    My Uncles 1988 KM3 was one of the first MAX II units and the Self Destruct feature of the Dallas Memory started to manifest in 2000 and caused total failure before 2002.

    Andrew - if you can post what ever info you have it would be helpful.

    I use a KM3P with MAX32 so my stuff is on a HDD (yeah subject to failure without warning.)

    At some point I may try to get uncles KM3 running again - will have to get the mem board modded and Dallas chips replaced and rebuild the screw map data. Also both CRT's are fried and would have to be replaced. I'm not reaching into my pocket for his machine, but if he ever decides to front the parts cost I'd do it.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    108

    Smile Hurco C-mos bat.

    I have a Hurco KM3. It takes a Rayovac-844. They don't make them any more. They have replacement. It is a 4.5V Alkaline Memory Backup Battery.
    Hope this helps.
    Dave

    [ame="http://www.amazon.com/RAYOVAC-844-Equivalent-CMOS-battery/dp/B000A0QV76"]Amazon.com: RAYOVAC 844 Equivalent CMOS battery: Electronics[/ame]

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1028
    Next to the Dallas RAMs are four SRAMs. Buy four of these, put them in where the Dallas RAMs are, move jumper E89 over, solder in 3.6v lithiums in the three holes, put jumpers on the six sets of pins next to the batteries. Sorted.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    152
    Bloke and Andrew
    Thank You.
    The saga continues.
    I have 5 Boards in the Ultimax II ( Ver 7.5 ?)
    I have no RS232 connection, just two mil Plugs (8 pin as I recall)
    There is no floppy or tape access, and there is a plate accross the normal location.

    Bloke
    I found the 89 pin, and it seems to be connected to 88 . pin 87 is the third pin and next to that
    (I assume that the blue double plug on the pins is a connection plug ?)
    I sound stupid, but I can't seem to find a substitute as I don't know what the specs are for the SRams. The numbers produce nothing that I can find

    Am I in the right church pew ?
    http://www.newark.com/jsp/search/bro...Ntt=srams&Ntx=


    The same for the battery
    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=5268475
    The one I found with tabs is "non- rechargable"
    Is that correct ?
    Will Ni-Cads work if it is a recharge-able circut ?

    Sorry to be a pain in the butt for you chaps.
    Any help is greatly appreciated by this retired machinist
    Photos




  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1028
    Move the E89 jumper down so it's covering the middle and bottom pins as in your picture.
    Remove the six jumpers above the battery slots, solder in three 3.6v, non-rechargeable lithium batteries with solder tags then replace all six jumpers.
    If you are on v7.xx software, you won't need to save the leadscrew map as compensation was set up on DIP switches on the dual axis boards before v8.xx software.
    The SRAMs you should use would be CDM62256E10 or equivalent in place of the Dallas chips.

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Ultimax 3 multibus board
    By hurco_man in forum HURCO
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 07:46 PM
  2. num 1060w how to change memory board batteries?
    By mendo in forum Computers / Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 04:55 PM
  3. Memory Batteries
    By k4rd in forum HURCO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2008, 06:23 PM
  4. Memory Batteries AM1
    By greenchair in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 07:42 PM
  5. CPU/Memory for KM3 Ultimax II
    By 123CNC in forum HURCO
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2007, 03:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •