527,821 active members*
2,252 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    vfd mach3 problem

    Hello, I have built a cnc table with a nvum as controlboard and a 1.5kw water-cooled spindle controlled by a VFD. Now I have the problem that when I turn on the spindle, my usb control board stops working. what could be the problem? I hope you can help me with this problem

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    7

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Classic interference from the VFD there have been many threads covering this do a quick search. I had exactly similar issues with my Chinese VFD and the Easy Stepper needed to isolate the mains supply with an inline filter and move the ESS further away. Make sure the cable going to the spindle motor is shielded cable grounded at the VFD side and also make sure the VFD is grounded to the main supply.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by koendersav View Post
    Hello, I have built a cnc table with a nvum as controlboard and a 1.5kw water-cooled spindle controlled by a VFD. Now I have the problem that when I turn on the spindle, my usb control board stops working. what could be the problem? I hope you can help me with this problem
    Could be an easy fix but would depend on how you have the spindle and VFD Drive wired Post some photos and I will tell you what you need to do
    Mactec54

  4. #4

    Re: vfd mach3 problem







    All the gear is connected to the same ground. without starting the VFD, the cnc machine works just fine but when i start the spindle, mach3 first tell that the usb device is reconnected and not working good at all

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by koendersav View Post






    All the gear is connected to the same ground. without starting the VFD, the cnc machine works just fine but when i start the spindle, mach3 first tell that the usb device is reconnected and not working good at all
    Start By adding a Power Filter close to the VFD Drive input Power supply and connect R and T Terminals for the VFD Drive input power supply

    Here is the EMI power filter I recommend for this

    TDK RSEN-20-30

    Is your USB cable double shielded 2 chokes can be better but 1 will work as well

    Is you VFD Drive to Spindle cable shielded

    Mounted in a plastic Box is not always a good idea, everything should be mounted on a metal Grounded Plate
    Mactec54

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Hi there, I have the exact same problem. Will the EMI filter solve the issue .? I have che checked all grounding connections and using a shielded spindle cable but the problem still persist.. As soon as I start the spindle, mach3 blips and message usb re- connected appear at the bottom of the screen, Thanks for help Valter

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4008

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Bluntly, replace the USB device with an Ethernet Smooth Stepper.
    The ethernet design can handle the RFI or interference; the USB design can NOT. End of story.

    Been there, done that, never regretted the cost.

    Cheers
    Roger

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Valben View Post
    Hi there, I have the exact same problem. Will the EMI filter solve the issue .? I have che checked all grounding connections and using a shielded spindle cable but the problem still persist.. As soon as I start the spindle, mach3 blips and message usb re- connected appear at the bottom of the screen, Thanks for help Valter
    Yes the EMI filter will do the job, you also have to Ground the shields correctly as well, I have more Grounding examples if you need more

    The VFD to spindle Cable needs the Shield to be Grounded correctly at both ends
    Mactec54

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by RCaffin View Post
    Bluntly, replace the USB device with an Ethernet Smooth Stepper.
    The ethernet design can handle the RFI or interference; the USB design can NOT. End of story.

    Been there, done that, never regretted the cost.

    Cheers
    Roger
    If everything is wired correctly the USB connections work without any problems
    Mactec54

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4008

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    If everything is wired correctly the USB connections work without any problems
    IF, IF, IF.
    Forgive my disbelief: I tried and tried to eliminate the RFI, but I still had daily crashes. I switched from a USB SS to an ESS and never had a single problem again.
    Biased, I am sure.

    Cheers
    Roger

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    2

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Thanks guys :-)
    I have tried an industrial EMI filter https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...ary=usen&tab=1 but the problem persist.. I have connected the filter also to the PC supply and then to the CNC controller supply but the issue still there. unfortunately I only had 1 filter so I couldn't try having each power inputs through its own filter. Next step for me is to re-verify all grounding connections, shields bonding and then I will remove the spindle cable from the chain duct and route it in a metallic flexible conduit if I can find one.
    I was also thinking about using an USB isolator but at this point it may be cheaper to get an ethernet cnc controller card as suggested by Roger.
    Anyhow, your help is much appreciated, let's see how it goes.
    Valter

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4008

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    USB isolator
    I think I tried one of those. Didn't work.

    Cheers
    Roger

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Valben View Post
    Thanks guys :-)
    I have tried an industrial EMI filter https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...ary=usen&tab=1 but the problem persist.. I have connected the filter also to the PC supply and then to the CNC controller supply but the issue still there. unfortunately I only had 1 filter so I couldn't try having each power inputs through its own filter. Next step for me is to re-verify all grounding connections, shields bonding and then I will remove the spindle cable from the chain duct and route it in a metallic flexible conduit if I can find one.
    I was also thinking about using an USB isolator but at this point it may be cheaper to get an ethernet cnc controller card as suggested by Roger.
    Anyhow, your help is much appreciated, let's see how it goes.
    Valter
    What country do you live in as the Filter you have may not be suitable, it also needs to be placed as close as you can to the VFD Drive each item you are trying to protect needs it own EMI Filter ( Power supplies Etc.)

    Ethernet is better but you should solve the noise problem

    Is the VFD to spindle cable shielded and the shield Grounded at both ends as per the snip in post 8, if not that is a good starting point

    USB isolator is not needed, and may not solve any problems, if your wiring is like the above cabinet then you need to tidy it up and Twist all the pairs of wires

    Also check that the spindle 4th pin is Grounded in the spindle connector most are not and this needs to be corrected, you do this with a meter, continuity test Pin 4 to the spindle body

    Are you using ( 1 ) power source ( supply ) for your whole machine
    Mactec54

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11405

    Re: vfd mach3 problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Valben View Post
    Thanks guys :-)
    I have tried an industrial EMI filter https://www.phoenixcontact.com/onlin...ary=usen&tab=1 but the problem persist.. I have connected the filter also to the PC supply and then to the CNC controller supply but the issue still there. unfortunately I only had 1 filter so I couldn't try having each power inputs through its own filter. Next step for me is to re-verify all grounding connections, shields bonding and then I will remove the spindle cable from the chain duct and route it in a metallic flexible conduit if I can find one.
    I was also thinking about using an USB isolator but at this point it may be cheaper to get an ethernet cnc controller card as suggested by Roger.
    Anyhow, your help is much appreciated, let's see how it goes.
    Valter
    The metallic flexible conduit is ok if it is not going to be moving up/down with the Z axis and spindle as it will fail quite quickly and it must be PVC coated, it can not be the straight metal type

    VFD to Spindle must have a high flex rating IGUS is one of the best cable suppliers for this type of cable depending on your spindle Kw I can give you the cable spec's that will suit your spindle
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. problem mach3
    By tazma in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2019, 03:12 PM
  2. Mach3 problem,help!
    By pajdoosijek in forum RFQ Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 11:40 PM
  3. Mach3 problem with new cnc
    By jimmyaz in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-04-2011, 12:38 PM
  4. Mach3 problem
    By rarcher2 in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 07:07 AM
  5. mach3 problem
    By cicio in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 09:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •