589,240 active members*
6,133 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    VFD Set up Settings

    Just got a NZ100 VFD and a 0.8kw water cooled spindle for the past week been trying to set it up with no luck
    keeps giving an error of over current i attach a video and VFD Manual
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,
    what sort of motor are to trying to run? If its a 400Hz 24000rpm type, then you are risking blowing both the VFD and the spindle if you keep trying to run it WITHOUT making the correct settings in the VFD.

    The default settings as the VFD leaves the factory is for a 50Hz motor. See P105. Note also that the VFD will apply maximum voltage to the motor at 50 Hz, see P110. If you have not changed those two at least to 400Hz, and assuming your
    spindle is 400Hz, then that will cause an overcurrent event right there.

    Craig

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    yes it is a 400hz 24000rpm i have set P105 and P110 to 400

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,
    did you make those settings BEFORE you tried running the motor or AFTER?

    Craig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    i have set it all before i attempted to run the motor

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    i even got a cheap second vfd to test is doing exactly the same im sure there is some settings i am missing i have been on this for days now im pulling my hair out

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,
    that's good news. Often the VFD will damage itself if those absolutely basics settings are not made initially.

    I have always used Delta VFD's and while I might have tried to blow them up I've never actually succeeded. I'm not sure what to recommend now. I have inductors and resistors I can hook
    up to simulate the impedance of motor windings and a high voltage differential oscilloscope probe....but in absence of that sort of test gear there is little I can recommend.
    Perhaps matec has some other ideas.

    Craig

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Thank you i dont know what to do i feel like giving up on the hobby all together.

    who is Matec?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,
    what about P215? Have you changed that to 400Hz? In fact there are a few settings P212,P213 and P215 which look like they need to be set also.

    Craig

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,

    who is Matec?
    any cursory search of the forum and you will find his posts, he is particularly good at sorting out various makes and models of VFDs.

    Craig

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    P212 = 3000
    P213 = 2
    P215 = 400

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    4666

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Hi,
    I can't understand why P212 is range limited to 6000rpm?. Your spindle should o 24000 rpm...so I can't see how P212 will ever be right.

    Craig

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by joeavaerage View Post
    Hi,
    I can't understand why P212 is range limited to 6000rpm?. Your spindle should o 24000 rpm...so I can't see how P212 will ever be right.

    Craig
    by what i found its 3000rpm per 50hz 400hz/50hz = 8 x 3000 = 24000rpm

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by ipkiller86 View Post
    by what i found its 3000rpm per 50hz 400hz/50hz = 8 x 3000 = 24000rpm
    Thats a number that is used for the HY VFD Drive the termination of 8x3000 is not anything meaningful even if it works with this number of 3000 this is not how it normally works.

    It seems you have most of the Parameters set, this is what you should have, there may be some others if this does not get you going. if you have set any others then do a Reset and set just these Parameters

    P100=400

    P104=0

    P105=400

    P106=120

    P107=6 (Adjustable)

    P108=6 (Adjustable)

    P109=220 (Spindle Motor Voltage)

    P110=400

    P115=8

    P202=10

    P203=10

    P209=220

    P210= (Spindle Motor Amps)

    P212= (Spindle Max RPM)

    P213=2

    P215=400

    I will add some more Parameters, set these first, is your spindle Air Cooled or water Cooled??
    Mactec54

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Thats a number that is used for the HY VFD Drive the termination of 8x3000 is not anything meaningful even if it works with this number of 3000 this is not how it normally works.

    It seems you have most of the Parameters set, this is what you should have, there may be some others if this does not get you going. if you have set any others then do a Reset and set just these Parameters

    P100=400

    P104=0

    P105=400

    P106=120

    P107=6 (Adjustable)

    P108=6 (Adjustable)

    P109=220 (Spindle Motor Voltage)

    P110=400

    P115=8

    P202=10

    P203=10

    P209=220

    P210= (Spindle Motor Amps)

    P212= (Spindle Max RPM)

    P213=2

    P215=400

    I will add some more Parameters, set these first, is your spindle Air Cooled or water Cooled??
    My Spindle is water cooled

    is there a way of testing spindle to find out if i have a bad spindle

    i tried those parameters i see the spindle twitching ang get same error

    thank you for your help

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by ipkiller86 View Post
    My Spindle is water cooled

    is there a way of testing spindle to find out if i have a bad spindle

    i tried those parameters i see the spindle twitching ang get same error

    thank you for your help
    What was the error, this is important, that sounds like you don't have it wired correctly, or you have a wiring shorting in the plug.

    The correct wiring is with a 4-wire Shielded Cable from the VFD Drive to the Spindle

    U / Pin1

    V / Pin2

    W / Pin3

    Ground / Earth to Pin 4

    Shield Termination is by clamping in the Plug Restraint, and a Clamp to the Ground Plane at the VFD Drive end.

    For testing the spindle Plug Pins

    With no Power connected

    Spindle Plug ohm measurement.

    Pin1 to Pin2=

    Pin2 to Pin3=

    Pin3 to Pin1=

    Pin4 should have continuity to the Spindle Body if not this will have to be corrected, as some are not connected inside.
    Mactec54

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    What was the error, this is important, that sounds like you don't have it wired correctly, or you have a wiring shorting in the plug.

    The correct wiring is with a 4-wire Shielded Cable from the VFD Drive to the Spindle

    U / Pin1

    V / Pin2

    W / Pin3

    Ground / Earth to Pin 4

    Shield Termination is by clamping in the Plug Restraint, and a Clamp to the Ground Plane at the VFD Drive end.

    For testing the spindle Plug Pins

    With no Power connected

    Spindle Plug ohm measurement.

    Pin1 to Pin2=

    Pin2 to Pin3=

    Pin3 to Pin1=

    Pin4 should have continuity to the Spindle Body if not this will have to be corrected, as some are not connected inside.



    i removed the plug just to remove any plug problems i have red blue and yellow and earth

    Yellow to Red = 0.98Ohm
    Red to Blue = 1.50 Ohm
    Blue to Yellow = 2.25 Ohm

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by ipkiller86 View Post
    i removed the plug just to remove any plug problems i have red blue and yellow and earth

    Yellow to Red = 0.98Ohm
    Red to Blue = 1.50 Ohm
    Blue to Yellow = 2.25 Ohm
    There is a problem with that they should be all close to the same. just to be sure take it to any motor rebuild / repair place and have them do a megger test, if you had the Parameters set wrong before powering up this will damage the spindle motor almost instantly, I'm not sure why you are reading out color wires as the spindle plug has pin numbers so you may be doing something wrong with this and testing it incorrectly, so only measure the spindle Plug Pins only.

    Post a photo of the spindle plug
    Mactec54

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    14

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    There is a problem with that they should be all close to the same. just to be sure take it to any motor rebuild / repair place and have them do a megger test, if you had the Parameters set wrong before powering up this will damage the spindle motor almost instantly, I'm not sure why you are reading out color wires as the spindle plug has pin numbers so you may be doing something wrong with this and testing it incorrectly, so only measure the spindle Plug Pins only.

    Post a photo of the spindle plug
    I removed the plug to make sure it was not the plug that had the problem i was going to replace the plug to a better one

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: VFD Set up Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by ipkiller86 View Post
    I removed the plug to make sure it was not the plug that had the problem i was going to replace the plug to a better one
    They have been wired the to the plug so that the Pin numbers match the U V W Connection, as for saying you will get a better plug, All the inexpensive AV Plugs come from the same place, and have around the same quality, so if that was the reading, just from the wires then the spindle is damaged, if they want it back for a replacement they will know that you have removed the plug

    It would be very unlikely to be the Spindle plug that had the problem, if there was a plug problem it is normally on the cable side that the user installed incorrectly.
    Mactec54

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2019, 01:25 AM
  2. VFD Settings
    By jrg6269 in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 02-13-2018, 05:51 PM
  3. VFD settings
    By Rileigh in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2015, 09:02 AM
  4. Re vfd settings
    By woffler in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 03:10 PM
  5. power set settings
    By Hifeed in forum Fadal
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-30-2010, 04:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •