548,590 active members*
2,760 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > VMC 10 green start button
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    108

    VMC 10 green start button

    Hey Everyone:
    Powering up - push the green start button, relays pull down control comes on, machine is basically operational.
    Release the green button, relays kick out. Power supply low voltage? Check method?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    5182

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprew View Post
    Hey Everyone:
    Powering up - push the green start button, relays pull down control comes on, machine is basically operational.
    Release the green button, relays kick out. Power supply low voltage? Check method?
    Thanks
    Check the stop button. It may not be making contact properly, not an uncommon condition.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1556

    Re: VMC 10 green start button




    If you're talking about the green power button at the back of the machine then look at K1.
    K1 is a latching relay. When you push in the Green power button it allows power to the dc power supply. The DC power supply powers up and energizes K1. K1 has a set of Normally Open contacts that Latch and keep power going to the power supply until you turn off the main disconnect switch.


    Quote Originally Posted by Sprew View Post
    Hey Everyone:
    Powering up - push the green start button, relays pull down control comes on, machine is basically operational.
    Release the green button, relays kick out. Power supply low voltage? Check method?
    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Untitled.jpg  

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1556

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Sorry, I failed to mention that you need to have a good 5 volts from the power supply in order to energize K1. Have someone hold the button in and go measure your voltage at the power supply 5+ VDC to ground. If that's good then you probably have bad contacts on that relay.
    K1 is a relay mounted on the power supply according to the drawings.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    108

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Yes, the green button in the back of the machine.
    Thank you for the replies and drawings. Will take a look and see if that works.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    108

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    K1 Relay was it! Thank you.
    Had a old 4020 sitting out in the yard. Pulled the relay from that and it worked like a charm.

    BTW: I am in So Cal. Anyone needs a '85 4020, come pick it up.
    Have a good weekend!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1556

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Good deal. Thanks for the follow up.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprew View Post
    K1 Relay was it! Thank you.
    Had a old 4020 sitting out in the yard. Pulled the relay from that and it worked like a charm.

    BTW: I am in So Cal. Anyone needs a '85 4020, come pick it up.
    Have a good weekend!

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    738

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprew View Post
    K1 Relay was it! Thank you.
    Had a old 4020 sitting out in the yard. Pulled the relay from that and it worked like a charm.

    BTW: I am in So Cal. Anyone needs a '85 4020, come pick it up.
    Have a good weekend!
    What is wrong with the 4020? Do you know the footprint, approximately? I'm in South Orange County.
    Halfnutz

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1556

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    Approximate size is a 10 foot cube weighing in at 10,500 pounds and takes 3 phase power unless you get the single phase transformer.
    All the documentation is online. Google Fadal 4020 Dimensions.


    It's 115" wide, it's only 87" deep, but you need to allow 3' in order to open the cabinet doors and to remove the y axis ball screw.
    Height depends on extend Z axis or not. I believe with the extended it takes about 9.5' to operate.


    I don't know anything about it than it's missing a K1 Relay

    Quote Originally Posted by Halfnutz View Post
    What is wrong with the 4020? Do you know the footprint, approximately? I'm in South Orange County.
    - - - Updated - - -

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    108

    Re: VMC 10 green start button

    ha ha yes I will put the relay back once I get the new one.
    Halfnutz - nothing wrong with it when I unplugged it. Just don't have the room. Breaking my heart to see it sit. Needs a good home.
    I think a couple of the amplifier cards are new style. Anaheim.

Similar Threads

  1. Start Cycle Button
    By wsj in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-25-2019, 03:36 PM
  2. Laoded my first program, hit the green button...
    By l u k e in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-26-2011, 02:39 AM
  3. The Green button won't go :-\
    By Shanghyd in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 11:29 PM
  4. the green button
    By msn_jrd in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-20-2008, 04:02 PM
  5. Cycle Start button
    By kaleem1 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-24-2005, 09:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •