527,993 active members*
2,317 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > VMC 40 with no Turcite on table?
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    33

    VMC 40 with no Turcite on table?

    I have 2 Fadal VMC 40s. One is a 1984 2013 and the other is a 1985 2216. I have also worked in numerous shops that had many FADALa that I ran, repaired and maintained. I just aquired the 1985 and started tearing it down for a thorough cleaning, inspecting, repairing, and adjusting. I have never seen a boxway FADAL without Turcite before. This machine has turcite on the saddle (Y axis) but no turcite on the table ( X axis). If the Turcite was just worn out or fallen out, I would think the ways would be galled. The ways on the saddle and the table appear to be ground and scraped and in flawless condition. If you check the stack height of everything, the non adjustable gib straps have 0.0018" clearance. I have replaced Turcite on machines before and the table is usually rough where the Turcite is bonded to it, not ground. Does anyone know if Fadal made any machines ground ways instead of Turcite?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23

    Re: VMC 40 with no Turcite on table?

    I am inspecting an 85 vmc40 right now and not seeing turcite on it either, just ground and scraped ways. Did you ever find any more information on this?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    33

    Re: VMC 40 with no Turcite on table?

    Quote Originally Posted by Brandocnc View Post
    I am inspecting an 85 vmc40 right now and not seeing turcite on it either, just ground and scraped ways. Did you ever find any more information on this?
    Brandocnc,
    I actually know a couple guys that worked at the factory and quite a few of Fadal's Southern California field technicians. None of them had heard of or seen one without Turcite. Though I never took measurements and compared with my other machine, I came to the conclusion that someone ground the top of the saddle instead of replacing the Turcite. I ended up sand blasting the top of the saddle and putting Turcite on it. light machining and hand scraping of the Turcite and new gib straps

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    385

    Re: VMC 40 with no Turcite on table?

    Fadal did not Turcite from 1979 (VMC45)-1985ish lol I have 2 1984 VMC 40's here that do not have Turcite on any of the Axes. Now some 84's could have received Turcite after 84 because Fadal would upgrade originals to be more up to date. Especially saddle upgrades happened frequently original saaddles were called Short (square ends) and the newer saddles were called Long (Tapered ends).

    You can also raise the Z axis and see if the head has Turcite i probably does not raise the z axis up to the 4 inch plus direction from coldstart and you can see the Surface that rides against the Column ways.

Similar Threads

  1. ADHESIVE OF TURCITE
    By navidmasuleh in forum General Off Topic Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-10-2014, 06:56 AM
  2. Where's the turcite?
    By flick in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 01:38 PM
  3. Turcite???
    By mniadna in forum Fadal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 08:51 PM
  4. Resurface X-table saddle with turcite
    By eng101 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-23-2009, 08:17 AM
  5. Turcite
    By IndHobby in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 11:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •