525,869 active members*
3,280 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    339

    What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    I am starting a PDB build for my Novakon and was wondering if anyone knows the brand/source of Pneumatic Cylinders Tormach uses on their PDBs?

    Steve

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    265

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    I don't know what they use but I used a
    Bimba FO3-1251 FLAT POWER MULTIPLIER 4"B X 1"S 3 STAGE
    Installed in Dec/Jan of 2010, so far so good....
    M

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1880
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve303 View Post
    I am starting a PDB build for my Novakon and was wondering if anyone knows the brand/source of Pneumatic Cylinders Tormach uses on their PDBs?

    Steve
    There is absolutely no way the folks at Tormach would ever let that information out.
    You can buy GOOD PARTS or you can buy CHEAP PARTS, but you can't buy GOOD CHEAP PARTS.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    339

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    I ended up ordering a Fabco 3 stage.

    Steve

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    73

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    CruddCNC on Youtube

    CruddCNC on Youtube identified the Tormach cylinder or an identical clone of it. I suspect its the exact same, as it's identical in every spec. Its a 3-stage cylinder from Xinyi Pneumatic in China. Link and contact info are below. I paid $290 for mine including DHL freight and a solenoid. It works great on my PDB and have had no issues with it. Pics below show it on my G0704. Its a pivoting PDB design allowing quick quill use for manual tapping that I do often.

    Email Vicky at sales@xinyipc.com.cn
    CQ2100 X 12-3



  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    339

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    Thank you for the video link. Looks to be the same air cylinder.

    Steve

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    58

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    VERY IMPRESSIVE!!
    Joes 4X4 R&P, CastCNC v2, K2 8" Z, Vrail, and 2.2kw spindle and X200 w/ Modbus

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1

    Re: What Pneumatic Cylinder does Tormach use for their PDB?

    I built a PDB and used the one below. It looks exactly like the Tormach one.
    I'm not sure if it is the one they use but it works great.
    I did a video a while back and I included a link to GrabCAD where you can find the drawings I made.


    Pneumatic Air Cylinder CQ2100X12-3

    www.xinyipneumatic.com


    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. z axis balanced whit pneumatic cylinder
    By omid_king in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-15-2019, 11:20 PM
  2. Bridgeport Interact 412 tool changer pneumatic air cylinder replacement ?
    By RMARCH in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-04-2017, 07:24 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2016, 03:34 PM
  4. Pneumatic draw bar cylinder help
    By ApexMotorsports in forum Auto Tool Changer
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2015, 01:38 PM
  5. Pneumatic Air Cylinder questions
    By Goldhunter_2 in forum General MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 03:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •