584,841 active members*
4,329 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Where to start ?!?

Looking for some advice, any! Maybe a direction where to look or a particular sub-forum/thread to post on.

My company is expanding and we are looking at getting a Hundegger. Before we make that investment we are looking to get a "table-top" to learn on as well as doing some R&D work.

I have some issues, scale is one. Our timbers are either 8"x8" by 10 ft long or 3"x12" by 12 ft long. I can work with shorter pieces but I want to retain the 8x8 or 3x12 dimensions.

The second issue is always, the cost.

I am a mechanical engineer by degree and haven't done CNC since I graduated 20+ years ago. I haven't done any engineering in a similar time frame.

Advice?

Thanks,
    Dave
    Shibusa Systems, LLC

Re: Where to start ?!?

I think a lot of the larger table top routers will handle a 3x12, but the 8x8 is going to be an issue without some extensive modification to the Z axis, just not enough travel or clearance on the gantry supports.

I have no experience with the Hundegger machines, but I can see from the pictures and videos that it is nothing like a CNC router and uses proprietary software. Bottom line is I'm not sure how much useful information/experience you would gain with a small CNC router. That Hundegger machine looks to be a 9 or 10 axis machine.

But I have to admit the
    Hundegger machines are pretty cool. I actually thought about building a machine like that back in my optimizing chop saw days.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA