585,748 active members*
3,735 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Controller & Computer Solutions > Which motion control / software for a combo machine?
Page 1 of 2 12

Which motion control / software for a combo machine?

Hello

I've got this machine I want to build but silly me, i'm a complete beginner Please be kind.

I'd like to setup a 4th axis on an encoded servo to be used as both a lathe and milling 4th axis. A kind of a miniature mill-turn. Workable area not so big. I've got some parts already. I can give you an idea of the machine size with the following pic but I don't have any cad dwg or anything. Planning on machining metals. I won't go into too much detail about the machine if it's not needed. My question is more about the motion control / software.

Since I'm a beginner Acorn has caught my attention as it seems like it might be the easiest to setup and learn. I'm just not sure how I would go about the 2 spindles (lathe-mill).

Linux and uccnc seem like the other preferable options. I get the feeling they might have more flexibility down the track but I would be going through a lot more head scratching to get there.

I'm not a pc guru or anything, I just currently have a manual lathe and like the idea producing some parts through automation.

Any help or ideas appreciated :cheers:

Re: Which motion control / software for a combo machine?

I was snooping around the centroid forum and found this quote by cnckeith

"right now, 0-10 vdc and 0-5 vdc analog out is the only way to control a spindle motor with Acorn.[/FONT]

we are adding PWM out and the ability to use an axis output (step and direction) to Acorn CNC12 software which will be backward compatible with all Acorn hardware!. so yes with a future software update you will be able to use PWM or step and direction to command a spindle motor in addition to 0-10 vdc analog out...."