584,826 active members*
5,225 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Which strategy for this cut in fusion

Which strategy for this cut in fusion

Hi

For quite a while (at least an hour now) i have been trying to choose a cutting strategy for this cutout highlighted in blue.
    It is 1mm deep and i have chosen a 4mm flat end mill and the material is Plywood.
    I have tried most ways that i thought might work but they all come out wrong for one reason or another, some have really weird effects but as a novice i am not yet able to understand what it is i am doing wrong.
    On the other side of the piece i have cutouts using a 'pocket' strategy but only one end is open and they are just like a slot but one end terminates in the wood (inside the outline of the piece), no other cut-outs on or in the slot profile/outline to complicate matters like this one which has 3 holes in it.

Can someone please just tell me which strategy to work with that would simply cut the slot out, i will play until i get it if i can at least know which one should work.

Many thanks bernie

Re: Which strategy for this cut in fusion

Are you able to attach your file so we can try a few things? I can think of a couple of ways to do this but don't want to waste time recreating what I see to test. If it's proprietary I understand that you may not be able to send the file.

David
    David
    Romans 3:23
    Etsy shop opened 12/1/17 - CurlyWoodShop

hi david
    i tried to seperate from a large file and its coming up with lots of errors, i will continue to try though
    cheers

What I do is save it as a new file and then just delete everything but that one piece.

David
    David
    Romans 3:23
    Etsy shop opened 12/1/17 - CurlyWoodShop

Yep... upload the model and I'm more than happy to offer some solutions as well.