547,544 active members*
776 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3

    Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    Hey there. Ive gotten so much help from this forum by just reading. Thanks everyone so much!

    I have a problem and I don’t know how to proceed.
    We got a Tree VMC 750. We got it going and it’s been going good without too many issues. Today we couldn’t get it to align.

    The Y Axis keeps over traveling and erroring out. I’ve slowed down feed rate to as low as it goes (7%) and it still over travels

    I’m attaching the pictures of the 3 errors that pop up.

    https://imgur.com/a/ObKrvmX

    Thanks In advance for any help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 90B25C95-E298-4B00-B3C9-6CF31C600225.jpg  

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1107

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    ...thats a Following Error problem. If, this machine has the DC Servo Dynamics Amp's/Drive system locate the Y Axis board and look for the "Signal or Gain" Pot and try adjusting it 1/4 to 1/2 a turn CW (more gain).\


    added
    The above would be a quick test if, the Gain adjustment is borderline. Other issues maybe causing your problem like dirty Motor Tachometer. A sign of a dirty Tachs is rough or jumpy axis when moving.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    I’m having a hard time finding where the Gain adjustment is. I’ve linked the manual to the servos below. I’m assuming it’s in the back control pad?

    And no, the axis movements are not jumpy at all. Although the machine has not been really cleaned in a while.

    https://mobile.yaskawa.com/delegate/...E-S800-16E.pdf

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    925

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    maactec54. He's the person you want when it comes to the Yask servopacks. Speak to him.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    380

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    Although servo tuning can cause those alarms, if it has been working and isn't now, seems unlikely. The fact that you said it keeps overtravelling, it seems far more likely the alarms are the result of the overtravel, and not anything to do with tuning.

    Is it moving the correct direction to reference? If the TPA switch is stuck it will keep moving away from the switch until it overtravels.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    3

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    Yes it does move in the correct direction. It does seem to me that it over travels.

    Usually what it does, it goes all the way up to the wall, and goes back a little bit. But it just keeps going and going until it errors out.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    925

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryRenalds View Post
    Yes it does move in the correct direction. It does seem to me that it over travels.

    Usually what it does, it goes all the way up to the wall, and goes back a little bit. But it just keeps going and going until it errors out.

    Check your limit switches / sensors.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    380

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    If it is going the correct direction, it likely isn't seeing the TPA switch input so doesn't reverse and complete the Align cycle.

    Switch may not be closing (or I have seen the dog fall off so switch isnt triggered). I've also seen the cable fail so even though the switch is working the signal can't get to the input card.

    I believe your machine has 24V I/O...are you getting the 24V input to the card?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    925

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    Quote Originally Posted by maver1ck View Post
    If it is going the correct direction, it likely isn't seeing the TPA switch input so doesn't reverse and complete the Align cycle.

    Switch may not be closing (or I have seen the dog fall off so switch isnt triggered). I've also seen the cable fail so even though the switch is working the signal can't get to the input card.

    If they are NO type switches it could have a broken wire. Wire breaks only usually get picked up by controllers if they are NC type swiches.
    That's why many of us use NC.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1107

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    ...for what its worth here is a Operator Manual for VMC750. I see some Axis Display etc viewing on page 3-27. Some where maybe you can view Switch conditions are ON or OFF using the Diagnostics
    http://websystem.gismo.se/gismo/file...G%20MANUAL.pdf

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    106

    Re: Y Axis Over Travel when Aligning

    If you have release 2.xx software as shown in the lower left corner of the 'SERVICE' screen; then look in
    System Configuration > Machine Application > TAB#2 > Is the 'Overtravel Switches' 'Checked'.
    If other software contact Fives-MSI Tech Support at 1-800-934-0735 8am-5pm EST

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2019, 01:48 AM
  2. Aligning axis encoder on '94 VF-1
    By GITRDUN in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2019, 06:21 PM
  3. Aligning coordinate axis with part
    By outsider787 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-15-2017, 01:20 AM
  4. WARDJet Releases 5-Axis Router with 3 feet of Z-Axis travel
    By waterjet expert in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2016, 06:50 PM
  5. need Z axis design advice- dahlgren engraver -> full Z axis- how much Z travel?
    By lkasdorf in forum Uncategorised WoodWorking Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2013, 02:50 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •