504,045 active members
4,274 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Vectric > Z plunges for no reason!
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    208

    Z plunges for no reason!

    I’m trying to make a sanding dish that is 22” in diameter and maybe .25 deep
    I’m using a KL1212 router and Mach 3 along with Vetric Aspire.
    I used all the default parameters when I chose a .5” ball nose for the rough cut.
    About 1/5th the way into the cut, the Z plunges and throws everything off kilter.
    Any thoughts?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    81

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Which controller you have?
    Make no mistake between my personality and my attitude.
    My personality is who I am. My attitude depends on who you are.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    208

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    I’m using Mach 3
    I have a KL1212 cnc router
    The program i used was Vetric Aspire


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1602

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Quote Originally Posted by robwiacek View Post
    I’m using Mach 3
    I have a KL1212 cnc router
    The program i used was Vetric Aspire


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You asked the same question yesterday?

    Here> https://www.cnczone.com/forums/diy-c...-software.html
    Retired Master Electrician, HVAC/R Commercial. FLA Saturn 2 4x4 CNC Router

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    666

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Hello Rob - Machines do not do anything for no reason. You will have to work through the mechanics of the machine to check everything is OK and you will have to check the program is OK. No simple answer... Peter

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    336

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Where does the model for the project come from?I would be more concerned about a discontinuity in the surface of the stl file than the machine in the first instance.I only have a little experience using Vectric software for 3D projects and that was Vcarve rather than Aspire so I might be missing something on that side,but given that the machine has worked previously,why would it start to misbehave now?Did nothing show up on the animation of the cut?I would run the simulation again at the highest resolution and look closely at the problem zone to see if a sudden plunge is apparent before attempting to diagnose a machine problem that might not exist.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1602

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Run the simulation and run it at slow speed, if its not showing in that or the final results its a mechanical/electrical issue with your machine.
    Retired Master Electrician, HVAC/R Commercial. FLA Saturn 2 4x4 CNC Router

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    208

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    I created the dish in Vetric Aspire.
    I set the parameters and used default settings for the .5 ball mill.
    I’m going to add a picture shortly.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    208

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    BTW, nothing showed up in the simulation. It was a clean run.
    The fact that it happened twice worries me.
    Check out the cut. There’s a dot that indicates where it plunged and a deep cut along the x axis after the PRZ was rearranged


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    208

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!


    This is a second try showing a similar result.
    There are other screw holes thT don’t have anything to do with it, but the Z plunge us there along with that wacky X axis run


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1602

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Once again you have machine or electrical issues.
    Retired Master Electrician, HVAC/R Commercial. FLA Saturn 2 4x4 CNC Router

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    81

    Re: Z plunges for no reason!

    Electrical noise would be the culprit No1, IMHO.
    Make no mistake between my personality and my attitude.
    My personality is who I am. My attitude depends on who you are.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. G76 Threading plunges straight to full depth???
    By bradlar90 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2016, 01:07 PM
  2. Plunges are being blended
    By giffpa in forum Tormach PathPilot™
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2015, 01:53 AM
  3. TB6560 controller Spindle ON on power up OFF Mach3 Plunges
    By Roy50 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-03-2014, 08:32 PM
  4. Is there anyway to control where plunges occur?
    By John Coloccia in forum MadCAM
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2014, 04:39 PM
  5. NC code posted and Z plunges deep into workpeice on MDX 500
    By ducatidragon916 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-25-2013, 02:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •