4,920 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
TDM Systems Forum

Digital. Experienced. Powerful. - 100% Tool Management

ViaCad / Shark > 2d/3d how-to carve piston groove

2d/3d how-to carve piston groove

hi all,
    i am fairly new to CAD, but i can absorb the tutorials rather easily.

i have the 2d/3d v8 Trial, which i believe is the Pro version ??

anyways, what method for creating a square groove into a solid cylinder, like making a ring groove in a piston? i can stack cylinders of differnt size and then join them, but there is of course the easier way that i dont know.

1) since i know the toolset somewhat, what about adding two lines on the dia of the cyl (piston, solid round block, etc) making a segmented surface and then pushing that surface inward? would this work (it should), but how to create that surface to push on?
    2) create a 2D shape in 3D editing (like a lathe tool) and position it in correct location, create a 3D solid by rotating around cyl axis (making a ring) then subtract ring from cyl? would this work? if so how to create that ring solid?

Similar to #2. Draw 1/2 the profile of your finished piston with the groove, and revolve it into the piston. Don't use Viacad, but any 3D CAD program can do this.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Similar to #2. Draw 1/2 the profile of your finished piston with the groove, and revolve it into the piston. Don't use Viacad, but any 3D CAD program can do this.
    do you mean you dont use ViaCAD, or are you saying i should not use ViaCAD ?