587,999 active members*
3,021 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
HEIDENHAIN Forum
MetalWork Discussion > Looking for Quality brand recommendations for machine tap and tap/die sets

Looking for Quality brand recommendations for machine tap and tap/die sets

Hi All,

I am rather new to this machinist stuff and I am ripped with enthusiasm for it. In my various trades and hobbies I have acquired knowledge of who makes good stuff and who don't!

aka DeWalt for cordless drills!

So, as I eye all these $20 - $40 Chinese tap and die sets on Ebay, I KNOW they would never hold up to the EXTREME grade steel I am looking to get into working with.

*** Who makes the good stuff for reliably tapping into the hardest of alloys?

I'm not exactly wealthy, so if I have to buy one tap at a time to get heirloom-quality then that's what I'll do! Ok, so I am near broke and taking this one step at a time... heh heh But what are my options? I at least want to minimize my general costs and frustrations of tap breakage by starting with quality maker(s).

All my hand-tools are Craftsman... and they aren't even the best stuff! (anymore?)

Who's the better-than-Craftsman manufacturer(s) for quality taps...?

Feel free to plug any other names who make good machine tools at will! (Though I do understand some of you might work for manufacturers, I hope the answers are un-biased...)

I know this info is of PRICELESS value and have been watching you all share that sort of info for a month or so now, impressed!

So, THANKS a TON in advance!

KC
    San Antonio

PS: This should be a fun thread!

I bought a large set from Matco ($$) and have been fairly happy with them, though they are not made by Matco. I also buy taps as I go along from a place called Fastenal. I must say that they are probably the most expensive I have seen, but they have some of the best quality taps and drill bits.
    http://www.fastenal.com/web/products...n_dim_search=1