586,102 active members*
3,215 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
FANUC Forum
Benchtop Machines > Several sherline questions
Page 1 of 2 12

Several sherline questions

Hi all, I'm a newb to cnc milling and have several questions. I recently picked up a used sherline 5400 cnc mill on ebay for cheap. When I got the mill unpacked and setup I realized I didn't have any documentation on the steppers or the control board so it took quite some research and trial and error to get it configured in Mach3. Once I got the correct steps per figured out and the correct pins configured I was able to run some tests. Initially, on simple parts I designed in AutoCAD, then imported into MeshCAM for tool paths, everything seemed to be good.

Then I noticed the Z axis was "dropping" for lack of a better term. What was happening was the leadscrew was getting pulled up into the stepper housing slightly and then on the down movement the screw/spindle assembly would drop back down the distance it had been drawn up in. Obviously that was unacceptable. I machined a washer to go between the top threads of the leadscrew and the bottom of the sleeve where it mounts in the stepper housing which fixed that problem.

Next I tried a much more complex part which is somewhat indicative of what I intend to mill. This part had 30,000 lines of code generated from MeshCAM. I noticed once it got to the parallel finishing passes that the machine had obviously lost steps at some point. I discovered by reading that it was the driver board (old CNCgeeker/univelop TA8435) and that there was apparently a hardware problem with that board. So I ordered a geckodrive g540. I got it all wired up, configured etc. and continued to run tests.