547,103 active members*
1,950 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
Photonics Forum - Banner
Photonics Forum Blog

Berthold Leibinger prize awards excellent laser research

December 2014
Author: Photonics Forum
Company: VDMA Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau e.V.
Berthold Leibinger prize awards excellent laser research

More than 500 guests from economy, science, politics and the society followed the invitation of Leibinger to Ditzingen, Germany.

The winners of the Berthold Leibinger Innovation Prize (Innovationspreis) are:

  • 1st: Dr. Alexander A. Oraevsky, Houston, Texas, for Optoacoustic Imaging for New Medical Insights
  • 2nd: Dr. Helmut Erdl and Dr. Abdelmalek Hanafi, BMW, Germany, for Vehicular Laser Light Illumination
  • 3rd: Professor Hwa-yaw Tam, Professor Siu Lau Ho and Dr. Shun-Yee Michael Liu from Hongkong, for Intelligent Sensor Network for Railway Monitoring

The Berthold Leibinger Future Prize (Zukunftspreis) honoured:

  • Professor Philip Russell, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany, for his invention of Photonic Crystal Fibre

Please find further information at: