586,608 active members*
3,567 visitors online*
Register for free
Login Register
INDEX-Werke // INDEX TRAUB Forum
Hobbycnc (Products) > Unipolar HobbyCNC driver work with bipolar Nema23?

Unipolar HobbyCNC driver work with bipolar Nema23?

Hi Guys

I`m new to all this and just starting out - I have myself 3 motors - Nema 23 the first ones at the top of this page:

http://web.archive.org/web/200503180...com/page3.html

I purchased them off someone else, not from new and so they are wired bipolar parallel.

As a noob, I just want to get them running and I am considering buying the EZ HobbyCNC driver 4 axis. Now I realise my motors are bi-polar and that the board is a uni-polar but will is still work or will I need to rewire the motors?

Help and advice appareciate.

Chris

Chris ,

If they are 4 wire steppers they will NOT work with the HobbyCNC board.

Jeff...
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

Jeff

No, they are 8 wire bipolar - it is the unipolar / bipolar thing I don`t understand. What will be the "issue" that probably will make this drive not the ideal piece of kit? I heard that ideally I should be using bipolar driver with bipolar motor...

Any more advice welcome.

Actually Jeff, I have just done some more reading and they are just 4 wires now with the other two tapped up. I know the hobbyCNC does not accept 4 wire motors so I guess it would need a re-wire.

Chris

Chris,

If you can attach longer wires to the six existing wires you will be able to use the HobbyCNC drive.

Jeff..
    Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.

If they are either 6 or 8 wire motors, they can be configured to run either Unipolar or Bipolar. Take a look at this link for more detailed information on how to do so:

http://www.probotix.com/stepper_moto...polar_bipolar/