587,642 active members*
3,812 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Lathe G2/G3

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    45

    Lathe G2/G3

    Tom,

    I have searched a bit but I an unable to find anything concerning the issue I am having on the new lathe project. When using a G2/G3 I get an error:

    "Radius to end of arc differs from radius to start"

    I decided to play with this a bit and wrote some test code.

    G18 G20 G40 G49 G90
    G00 X0. Z1.0
    G1 Z.5 F20.
    G3 X.5 Z0. I0. K-.5

    This is what I got to work....although it shouldn't because the X is in diameter not radius, X should be 1.0. What am I missing?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4052

    Re: Lathe G2/G3

    Hi Epiphany,

    I don't believe we have released a Version of KMotionCNC that supports Diameter Mode. But we are working on one. You must code for Radius Mode.

    What Version are you using?

    Regards.
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    45

    Re: Lathe G2/G3

    Hi Tom,

    Using version 432a.

    Had to fight with the MasterCAM post but got it to output in radius. Working great now.

    On a separate note....Is there a variable that changes after DoPC(PC_COMM_EXECUTE); . I would like to turn on a light while the KMCNC G code program is active.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4052

    Re: Lathe G2/G3

    Hi Epiphany,

    There is a Macro defined in KMotionDef.h as

    JOB_ACTIVE

    That should return status (true/false) on whether a job is active. So in a loop you might do something like:

    SetStateBit(LIGHT_BIT, JOB_ACTIVE);

    Regards
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Similar Threads

  1. CAD/CAM for 3-in-1 lathe/mill combo with lathe spindle stepper motor
    By KevMoto in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2014, 08:59 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2013, 01:05 AM
  3. Anyone used FeatureCam with Omniturn Lathe / Gang Tool Lathe?
    By dbensavage in forum FeatureCAM CAD/CAM
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 02:39 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 07:47 AM
  5. My CNC mill with mini lathe performing CNC lathe operations
    By ryansuperbee in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 07:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •