587,477 active members*
3,532 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach PathPilot™ > System variable for the current tool length
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    28

    System variable for the current tool length

    I've seen a number of ways to set tool offsets (G10 L1 etc), but I haven't yet found a way to read the current tool length offset in gcode.

    I'm looking for a variable like #5223 (the Z offset in G54) that will allow me to read the current tool length.

    Does such a thing exist in PP and/or LinuxCNC?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    77

    Re: System variable for the current tool length

    Should be #5403

    G Code Overview

    What exactly are you trying to do?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    740

    Re: System variable for the current tool length

    All the numbered parameters are listed here:
    G Code Overview
    Step


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    28

    Re: System variable for the current tool length

    Interesting. I tried using #5403 in my code and it was always zero. I must have some other bug.

    I'm doing some mill turning. The idea is to keep looping through a subroutine (and making parts) until a pre-defined tool length threshold is reached:
    Code:
    #1 = #5403
    o101 while [#1 GT 4.35]
        (do stuff in a subroutine)
        #1 = [#1 - 0.5]
    o101 endwhile

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    28

    Re: System variable for the current tool length

    Update:

    Went back and tried it:
    Code:
    G10 L1 P50 Z[#5403-0.5]
    T50 G43 H50 M6
    Works perfectly! Thanks for the tip.

Similar Threads

  1. macro variable for mazatrol tool length
    By kendo in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 05:13 PM
  2. System Variable for Tool in Spindle
    By ggborgen in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 04:22 AM
  3. Current tool # variable
    By hydrospin01 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 07:32 PM
  4. Macro variable for current tool diam ?
    By Shizzlemah in forum Fadal
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-30-2006, 03:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •