587,118 active members*
2,801 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Cool Estop don't work when homing

    Help! I am trying to get my bridgeport up and running. I am using homing routine in the macro.fil to home the Z axis. Estop button will not work while it is homing, it will not work untill the homing is done. The Estop works fine the rest of the time, I think but have some doubts about other issues. This is a first time build for me.
    Any help or suggestions will be most welcome.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1543
    Estop should be hard wired to stop or kill power to any devices that move, not part of your control. This is very important for your safety. The Estop circuit should only notify the control that an Estop has occurred.

    I'm not sure exactly which macro you're using. it should be modified to abort if an Estop has occurred.

    Karl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1543
    Here's how I handle Estop. You won't follow all of it.
    Input #59 is for notifing the control of Estop
    I have a picture on the control,red estop for stopped and green button for good.
    ESTOP runs estop.fil
    \141 is flag for reseting.
    in estop.fil turn off all the outputs calling to start a device so they
    don't re-start when you reset the control







    INPUTIO.FIL
    '*************ESTOP****************************MUS T BE FIRST LINE OF INPUTIO*********************************
    IF #59=0 THEN MESSAGE Estopped, need reset :PICTURE E-STOP.BMP;3700;7700:ESTOP:GOTO :INPUTIOEND 'run Estop.fil on Estop and don't run any of inputio
    IF #59=1 THEN IF \141=0 THEN RESUME: MESSAGE Estop Reset:PICTURE RESET.BMP;3700;7700:\141=1:COMMAND SH '\141 flag for Estop reset message and RESUME,

    <all of your inputio file here>


    :INPUTIOEND




    ESTOP.FIL
    SUSPEND MACROS 'suggested precaution in manual

    '[[STOPSPINDLE]] copy of macro below, MACROS not allowed in ESTOP.FIL
    #34=0 'make sure CCW is off
    #35=0 'make sure CW is off
    SPINSTOP
    LIGHT 4;OFF
    SLEEP 1.0
    IF #66=1 THEN #44=0:\122=0:LIGHT 10;ON 'if brake is in ON position, turn off brake release or brake on, flag for brake
    \121=0 'flag for spindle off


    #45=0:#46=0 'turn off coolant

Similar Threads

  1. estop
    By eloid in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 03:23 AM
  2. How homing and limits work
    By SyilAmerica in forum Syil Products
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-14-2007, 08:55 AM
  3. New setup with Mach3 - Limits work, homing doesn't
    By journeyonline in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 03:09 AM
  4. Estop
    By HuFlungDung in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-06-2004, 08:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •