587,189 active members*
3,230 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Mini Lathe > Newby needs help with threading on a Sieg 7x12
Page 1 of 2 12

Hybrid View

Newby needs help with threading on a Sieg 7x12

Hi all,

I am rather new to this. I recently bought a Harbor Freight Sieg 7x12 and have done one small project on it. I would now like to do some threading, specifically for a hard-to-find watchmaking specific thread size (40tpi x .275).

I have read the Mini-lathe manual from Little Machine Shop, and some online documentation, but I am still a bit confused with threading procedures.

Here's how I have the cross slide and tool bit set up for threading. The tool bit is HSS.

And here are samples of a couple of threading attempts I made.

The bottom one is on aluminum, which came out OK, though still a bit rough. The top one is on annealed silver steel (I am attempting to make a tap) and it's just ugly (right end... don't worry about the left end). The threads end up very rough and subsequent passes at .005 still seem to strip off way too much metal.

I would have thought 40tpi would be an easy one to start with since the half-nuts can supposedly be engaged anywhere, but I am clearly doing at least something (if not everything) wrong.