587,840 active members*
3,367 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 5 123

Hybrid View

Upgrading another WidgitMaster router

I've been using this router for over two months now, and I have noticed a weakness or design flaw in the lower y-axis slides! I had made the entire router using IKO LWL12B linear rails, and its obvious now that 12mm is not strong enough for the X & Z-axis weight!

My solution is to remake the lower section and use THK HSR25CR linear slides. These 25mm slides are designed to take force in all directions, and have a nice grease fitting to lubricate them!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_0933.JPG   100_0934.jpg   100_0935.JPG   100_0936.jpg  

100_0937.jpg  

After spending a few days in CAD, I came up with a simple solution. Then I placed an order for materials, and choose a 6"x6" aluminum angle with 3/4" wall thickness. This is much more economical than hogging out a large rectangular block of 6061!
    The front & rear plates will be made from ALCAST-5, which is the Canadian equivalent of MIC-6 jig plate! The Canadian plate is much nicer material to work with, as it is not a chalky or powdery as MIC-6! It works much like 6061!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_0938.JPG   100_0939.JPG   100_0940.JPG   100_0941.JPG  

Next I made a simple layout of the leg lengths on the aluminum angle, by adding .300" to each dimension. Then I pushed them through the vertical band saw, using lots of wax to keep it cutting smoothly.

With all the excess material removed, I now need to setup the mill for facing the outer surfaces to get an accurate 90 deg. corner!

By using two little angle plates, I dialed them in so they are parallel to the table's travel. Then I mounted my BIG Chinese 5" dia carbide face mill, I have found it works better if I take 3 of 6 inserts out!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_0942.JPG   100_0943.JPG   100_0944.JPG   100_0945.JPG  

100_0946.JPG