587,817 active members*
3,117 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > G-Code Programing > Need help with g-codes for my CNC mill, I'm new and bad at it any help is appreciated
Results 1 to 20 of 38

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Need help with g-codes for my CNC mill, I'm new and bad at it any help is appreci

    Quote Originally Posted by Openstarling694 View Post
    I have done all of these things already and still nothing has changed, I'm sorry to keep asking more and more questions but could there be anything else that I could fix, I also changed the tool numbers not sure if that will affect it or not.

    first tool change

    %
    (knuck bottle opener test)
    (T1 D=0.125 CR=0.0625 - ZMIN=-0.015 - ball end mill)
    (T2 D=0.1875 CR=0 - ZMIN=-0.35 - flat end mill)
    (T3 D=0.25 CR=0.125 - ZMIN=-0.0491 - ball end mill)
    N0 G90
    N1 G17
    N3 G0 Z0
    N4 T2 M6
    N6 S5000 M3
    N7 G54
    N9 G0 X0.1255 Y0.7255
    N10 G43 Z0.6 H4 ( T2=H2 )

    second tool change

    N24193 Z0.08 F40
    N24194 G0 Z0.6
    N24196 M5
    N24197 G53 Z0 ( G0Z0 )
    N24198 M1
    N24199 T3 M6 ( T3M6 must match G43 line H3 )
    N24201 S5000 M3
    N24202 G54
    N24204 G0 X1.9061 Y0.3243
    N24205 G43 Z0.6 H5 ( H5 is incorrect has to be the same as the Tool number T3=H3 )
    N24206 Z0.2

    third tool change

    N24475 Z0.2
    N24476 G0 Z0.6
    N24478 M5
    N24479 G53 Z0 ( G0Z0 )
    N24480 M1
    N24481 T1 M6
    N24483 S5000 M3
    N24484 G54
    N24486 G0 X0.4355 Y1.5
    N24487 G43 Z0.6 H2 ( Tool T1=H1 )
    N24488 Z0.2
    N24489 G1 Z0.065 F40
    No you have not you don't want G53 in your program anywhere, not configured like this any way


    You have to change all your H numbers to the same as the tool number
    Mactec54

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3136
    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    No you have not you don't want G53 in your program anywhere, not configured like this any way


    You have to change all your H numbers to the same as the tool number
    On some controls G53 is a one-shot use of the machine co-ord system.... so if the control can read G53 codes, and, you have proved that it does work by MDI... there should be no problem keeping it in your program. ie G53Z0 is go home fast to the machine Z zero position.

    As for H numbers matching the tool #... that should be a "standard" you should adopt..... it won't stop a program from running

    My 2cents.... sequence number zero (N0) may not be a legit range.
    ... best advice would be to single step the program to stop at the offending line.... then delete/modify items one at a time
    .... if you run a program. your machine may read ahead many lines, making it harder to isolate any problem code.

    If your machine requires you to manually toolchange.... M6 is an auto operation.... replace it with M00.. this makes the running program stop... forcing you to do something ... then cycle start to continue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Need help with g-codes for my CNC mill, I'm new and bad at it any help is appreci

    Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    On some controls G53 is a one-shot use of the machine co-ord system.... so if the control can read G53 codes, and, you have proved that it does work by MDI... there should be no problem keeping it in your program. ie G53Z0 is go home fast to the machine Z zero position.

    As for H numbers matching the tool #... that should be a "standard" you should adopt..... it won't stop a program from running

    My 2cents.... sequence number zero (N0) may not be a legit range.
    ... best advice would be to single step the program to stop at the offending line.... then delete/modify items one at a time
    .... if you run a program. your machine may read ahead many lines, making it harder to isolate any problem code.

    If your machine requires you to manually toolchange.... M6 is an auto operation.... replace it with M00.. this makes the running program stop... forcing you to do something ... then cycle start to continue.
    The control he is using quite often will not run the G53 so is better off not being in the program a G53 does not move any different than a G0 move

    His control will stop for a Tool change T1M6 is fine
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3136
    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    The control he is using quite often will not run the G53 so is better off not being in the program a G53 does not move any different than a G0 move

    His control will stop for a Tool change T1M6 is fine
    You seem to know what his machine & control is... want to let the rest of us know ? (the question was asked, but not answered)

    I did say "some controls".... and if the actual code worked...it is his choice to keep using it, not yours.

    I understand you have a lot of experience up your sleeve, but compelling a newbie to do jt to your coding method is not allowing him to develop on his own. There is quite often alternative methods

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Need help with g-codes for my CNC mill, I'm new and bad at it any help is appreci

    Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    You seem to know what his machine & control is... want to let the rest of us know ? (the question was asked, but not answered)

    I did say "some controls".... and if the actual code worked...it is his choice to keep using it, not yours.

    I understand you have a lot of experience up your sleeve, but compelling a newbie to do jt to your coding method is not allowing him to develop on his own. There is quite often alternative methods

    In testing the G53 worked so not a problem to have it in his program,

    I'm just guessing like everyone else, but Mach3 I would say is his control a little out of your league, I just run his program through 2 different controls and it will run if he corrects it as I posted

    When someone is learning they should start with the basic codes or know what the likes of G53 does, How it needs to be formatted in a line for it to work correct, so a standard G-Code like ( G0 ) is the simplest form of G-Code to know and what it does, Just the 2 letters tell you what it is going to do ( G0 )

    Depending on how it is used in Mach3 it will either pass it by and not do that line which is bad, or just stop some of these control just won't run the program from the start if it has a Code that it does not like

    You need to have used and installed these controls to make the comments you do
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2017, 01:08 PM
  2. New steel mill/router design. Feedback appreciated.
    By geekness in forum CNC Wood Router Project Log
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-19-2014, 05:24 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 09:04 PM
  4. roland camm3 mill any info appreciated
    By m8kingit in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2008, 03:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •