588,392 active members*
5,668 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Fixed gantry machine, my own take.

Hey Guys! Im still pretty new to the DIY CNC world, but I am a CNC programmer at one of the largest manufacturing companies in the US. Ive been lurking on the forums for about 6 months now, and I built a RockCliff machine about 5 months ago. I love the machine and it works awesome, but being a guy and such I wanted bigger and more power about a day after I got it running :cheers:

So being that Im around giant machines all day, and working with some great mechanical minds Ive spent some time making up my own version of the fixed gantry, with some inspiration from alot of the other MDF and DIY builds.

Space was a big concern with this as my workspace is a one car garage, that the wife would still like to park a car in. But I wanted to be able to cut 48" wide boards at the least. So after some thought, I decided to place my gantry over the long axis of my machine. The axis will travel on v-groove bearings on angle aluminum and be driven by roller chain. The gantry is about 60" long so I thought chain would help me eliminate lead screw whip.

The X-axis will be set up much like the rockcliff design, except using .75" Thomson rails and Igus sleeve bearings.

I attached a couple preliminary CAD drawings to show the initial design. Let me hear some feed back.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sideview.jpg   frontveiw.jpg  

Have you considered a rack and pinion drive?

I have considered rack and pinion, but It seems like theres less chance of backlash in a chain drive if tension is kept on the chain then with a rack and pinion drive. Also I have a source to get the roller chain components for basically free, so that's persuaded me haha.

Quote Originally Posted by prcdslnc13 View Post
    get the roller chain components for basically free, so that's persuaded me haha.
    That would persuade me too. Good luck and have fun with your build.