587,224 active members*
3,589 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

advice on the patriot.

I have been checking out this forum for sometime now and I was wanting to get some advice on the patriot 3 in 1 machine. I am metal fabricator by trade and I need a machine that will be easy to operate but will be a good machine that will be able to handle what i throw at it. I will mostly be macining parts for motorcycles and motorcyle engines. I would greatly appreciate any info or advice you could give me on the patriot or any other machine that would be better suited for my needs. Thanks again.

I have a new one arriving this coming Thursday. Hopefully I can get it set up in a week or so and I'll let you know what kind of tolerances it cuts. At least one of the posters on here does work on automotive cylinder heads. I don't know if Shoptask has anything in stock right now. I sent my payment on March 31.

I have used larger dedicated lathes and mills, so this is going to be different. The location of the X and Y axis handles are different than on larger machines.

You might find someone on here close enough to drive to and see their machine. If possible, you might also look at dedicated machines in use at a school or shop and see if you can turn something.

Right now, the main problem is the dealers of all makes getting their machines from China. Parts suppliers are going under everywhere, so the manufacturers are having problems getting the parts to assemble. Most, if not all of the smaller home size machines are made in China now.

Shoptask has a discount for advance payment. I think another 200 off for cash. Grizzly has a buy now pay later plan which delays payment for 90 days. If you pay it off in 90 days, there is no finance charge. It will probably take several months to get a machine from most sources. If you are in a hurry, Enco has some of their lathes in stock. You can go to their web site and check availability.