588,385 active members*
5,481 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Learning SW 2008

I'm starting a course in SW'08 on Wed. I've been using AutoCad 2000 since 2000, will I have a tough time making the transition ?. Bought the student version. Comments please!

It won't be long and you will be hoping that you NEVER see ACAD again.
    There basically is no similarities between the two. Unless you count that both can produce shop drawings that look the same.
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

My experience is that long-time autocad users have a hard time switching over to parametric modeling programs. No doubt that you'll be adept by the end of the class, but it will be rough going. I've been through a bunch of solid modeling and other drafting classes at college, and use solidworks for a wide range of model sizes at work daily. I feel that I've got a pretty good cross-section of what factors help and hinder learning the program after seeing 60-80 people learn it around me, of varying skill levels.

It boils down to what DareBee mentioned. The two are completely different. The Autocad way of doing things is the drawing itself, lines, circles, arcs, layers. You don't see a true drawing in parametric programs until the entire model is finished. In Autocad, you draw the part. In Solidworks, you define a series of volumes and the relationships between those volumes with a series very basic drawings and geometric constraints.

So, none of the skills transfer, and a lot of the old ACAD habits directly interfere with effective modeling in SW. My advice is to really, really wait up for the professor and do not get ahead of yourself until you are sure you know what the "parametric" way of doing things is. If you think something is going along similar to ACAD and you try to jump ahead, you stand a good chance (not always, but most of the time) of getting screwed over somewhere later on in a model.