588,606 active members*
8,076 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

G0704 DRO Experiences

Appologies if this has been covered already, there are bunches of postings for the G0704. I am a real rookie when it comes to modifying equipment so I was wondering if anyone has had experiences with any of the Meister DRO systems? There is one avialable on E-Bay that has a good selection of linear scales.

I would appreciate any warnings/approvals that anyone might give or recommendations of better DRO's.

Rick Kernell

Haven't tried the DRO's from the source you are talking about but I did install a 3-axis set from DRO PRO's. I also have a G0704 and the y-axis was a pain to install since there is no real (near) vertical flat surface to mount the scale or reader brackets to and the base is not long enough to mount the scale to.

I had to use another mill to machine down a part of the saddle to have enough room to mount the reader bracket, though I am sure a good 'ol angle grinder would work just fine.

I also had to make a longer vertical surface that is bolted to the base to mount the y-axis scale to. In profile, it looks like a right triangle and serves two purposes. One is to provide a vertical surface for the actual scale to mount to and the other is to extend the length of the base as the scale is too long to mount on the base and have the adjustability needed to align everything.

I made the mount out of 1x2 6061 barstock fwiw.

Now if I could just get my new motor mounts made....
    -Dave

DRO

Dave,

This doesn't sound like such a simple project after all. Do you have photos of the mod?

Rick

Quote Originally Posted by rkernell View Post
    Appologies if this has been covered already, there are bunches of postings for the G0704. I am a real rookie when it comes to modifying equipment so I was wondering if anyone has had experiences with any of the Meister DRO systems? There is one avialable on E-Bay that has a good selection of linear scales.