588,107 active members*
5,590 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tool Life Management

A brief bit of info about myself first, I am a "Setup Engineer" for a growing machining company (we have gone from 100 people in 2004 to 350+ in Dec. 2006). I have limited experience in programming as most of my work has been creating fixtures, setting up the machines, changing broken/worn tools, making minor adjustments, etc.; the big thing is I can understand, read and alter the .NC code (I understand the M code/G codes used in general machining, i.e G1, G2, M3, M5, M54, M98, M99, etc)(I can also "see" the toolpath as I read the program). In the last year, I have begun doing more Mastercam programming as well, as our programmer was promoted to another position in the company. I am still in the learning phase, but, unfotunately, most colleges in the area (within 50-60 miles) are barely teaching any CNC programming to speak of, most of it is the basics of M-code/G-code.

Now about the problem, we are trying to implement redudnadant tooling and tool life management in our machines. unfortunatly, many of our machines are rather old, and the controls are Yasnac i80M, Fanuc OM, Fanuc 15m, 15ma and 16i. I have read the manuals associated with these controllers and I cannot get a clear understanding of the programming involved.

Our one main job is in a Kitamura H400 with a Fanuc 15m controller, and we are cutting 303 stainless. We want to implement the TLM in this machine first and we would like to be able to either have it change to a different tool that is preset in the tool changer or stop and request a replacement tool, but only at the end or beginning of the program run, not in mid-cycle.

Can someone help me by explaining the TLM programming and possibly an example of the program.

No one out there is willing to help?