588,568 active members*
4,732 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Choosing a Driver Board and Power Supply

Choosing a Driver Board and Power Supply

Hello everyone!

This is my first post! I'm pretty new to hobby cnc. I've programmed and operated them for years but this will be my first build attempt. I'm starting with the electronics portion of the build first just to make sure i can accomplish it.

I have three motors that i got for pretty cheap. The are Applied Motion Product 4023-828, Nema 23, 1.7v 3.3a. Here's the link 4023-828 | Stepper Motors | Applied Motion

My problem is finding a cheap driver that will work for these motors. Most of the cheap ones i find on ebay are only rated to 2.5a or 3a with 3.5a max Here's a link to one i've been looking at its a Toshiba TB6560AHQ chip. CNC 3 Axis Stepper Motor Driver Controller Board TB6560 - eBay (item 280590409851 end time Dec-16-10 07:38:16 PST)

Would this driver work or would my 3.3a motors fry it? And will a 24v 15a power supply work? Please Help!

Thanks!

Since the driver powers the motor, you can always use a smaller driver with a larger motor.

I /strongly/ recommend against buying that cheap TB6560AHQ crap from China (HK). You can't repair it if you fry it, and if you are new at this, it is quite likely that you will fry a driver at some point. Second, they admit right in the listing that they will falsify the shipping documents... "We always send it as a "gift" and describe cheap value on shipping label." If they will lie /for/ you they will lie /to/ you. Google around to find all the people who are having problems with those type of drivers... replacing chips... "fixing" the design... just not worth it.