587,608 active members*
3,433 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    CNC programing

    Can I create a batch file in G code to have y axis = c axis? Or is this software dependent? I'm trying to manual code, no other software being used right now.
    Thanks,
    Jeff

  2. #2
    Hi.
    You only want to change all Y-coordinates to C-coordinates ?
    Then you can use any kind of text-editor to do this modification by replace-command.
    But I think that you need to do something different, or ?

    Ottmar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    77
    As long as your mindfull of changing the necessary codes to enable the C axis you should be golden if you just change the "Y" to "C". Out of curiosity what machine are you doing this for ???? only reason I ask is that certain machines you dont even need to change the "Y" value such as Haas lathes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    10
    Is this a "C" Axis on a Lathe or Mill?

    RGM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    10

    rotary translation

    Sounds as if you want to translate yaxis to rotary over a known diameter.
    If you have variables and math functions you can make a G code program.
    What you need to know is the circumference of the part. Then multiply
    360 * [Y/Circumference]. That will give you the Angle that Y plots out along the circumference of your part. Did a few of those in the early 80's before CAD was readily available.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Thanks for the replies

    I am helping an older guy (I'm 57!) who purchased a Servo ll Impact milling machine over 10 years ago. He has a 4 axis setup that he wants to drill .0625 holes on a 1" diameter by 1-1/2" long cylinder. I need to figure out the spacing so as not to collapse the edge or adjoining holes.
    He's thinking in terms of spacing using threads per inch (lathe guy?) and I was an architectural type of guy so our getting to the same point is much different.
    The reason for the question was if we were to try another software program that might be limited to 3 axis. I was wondering if I could state Y axis is = C axis. Heck I was always proud of the fact that our projects seemed to always fit
    like a large puzzle and always produced what we wanted. Now playing with what seems to be a maze of micro puzzles I can't give enough praise to you machinist. I believe I'm starting to understand the basics of code but man Autocad was easy compared to this. I might be more comfortable with a simple cad-cam program to get up to speed. It would also help if I were a machinist to understand the process!
    Thanks for the imput, anymore will be appreciated,

    Jeff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    10

    Possible solution

    Here's an attached DXF and NC file. See if it's something you can use, but remember, try it at your own risk!!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5
    You coulsd also program it by hand like this and save lots of memory....

    O0000 (PATTERN)
    N100 G00 G17 G20 G40 G49 G80 G90
    N102 T2 M06 (UNDEFINED)
    N104 G00 G90 G54 X-.0469 Y0. C0. S2139 M03
    N106 G43 H3 Z.6
    N108 G99 G81 Z.49 R.6 F4.11
    N110 G91 C9. L39 (RUN CANNED CYCLE AT 9 DEG INC 39 MORE TIMES)
    N112 G90 X-.125 C4.5
    N114 G91 C9. L39
    N116 G90 X-.2031 C0.
    N118 G91 C9. L39
    ETC
    THIS WILL ONLY WORK IF YOUR MACHINE IS SET UP TO READ L COMMANDS

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for all your responses to this question. I'm going to work with each of your suggestions in order to better understand each approach. It looks like defining the tool and feedrate and adding my z axis should get me started. My grandfather was a machinist in southern California and I got some exposure to it there as a teenager. I hope this guy I'm helping can provide this information.
    I may have to get a combo lathe milling machine just to play with. I already fab and repair as much as I can now at home.
    Thanks again,
    Jeff

Similar Threads

  1. Help on programing the PIC in MM2001
    By DreamerM in forum CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 10:15 AM
  2. Programing help with fanuc 10T
    By adaptaflex in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 03:11 PM
  3. Programing AUX buttons
    By George C in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 08:33 PM
  4. CAM programing
    By kenlambert in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2006, 07:03 AM
  5. Lathe programing help
    By smitty in forum CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-23-2003, 04:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •