587,998 active members*
1,811 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Aluminum cutting router

Hi,

My background is all in wood, so working with metals is a new thing to me.

My girlfriend designes motorcycle parts and accessories (heated electric vests and stuff like that) and is now branching out into small custom aluminum parts. She wants me to make her a small CNC to cut out the parts and says a table size of 9in X12in would be great. I figure this can be set up like the moving table plotter ChrisD made and posted pictures about the other week. http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showth...chris+plotterI could equip it with a laminate trim router and a TIN coated end mill. This would also put a small machine in the house in the event that I want to throw on a dremel and do a circuit board or something small like that.

I'm assuming my old 100in-oz motors would probably work ok for this with a xylotex board and one of my old 24V, 15A lambda power supplies.

Having never cut Al or any metal on such a setup, what router speeds (RPM, feed rate, etc.) would you suggest? Also, considering the above description, am I missing anything that would be obvious to a seasoned metal worker?

Steven

Alum will cut at 200 sfm(surface feet/min) 4xsmf/dia of tool=rpm

In general, aluminum will machine comparitively slower than you are used to in wood. I would say the surface feet per minute (SFM) would fall in a range of 200-3000. Often this depends on many variables - rigidity of machine, rigidity of tool holders, endmill / router bit design, cutter coating, type of coolant, method of coolant delivery, rigidity of part set up, (place repeating decimal here!).