588,392 active members*
5,681 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Impressed with Automation Technologies

Howdy!

I am new to the CNC world and to CNC zone, but have been a 3D printing, robotics and electronics enthusiast for many years, and wanted to start here with my first post on a positive note.

I have been slowly building my CNC machine now for about 3 years, starting first with a Shapoko One. Finding that to be inadequate for my needs, I began researching different CNC options and vendors from which I could build a larger, more capable system for milling aluminum robot components. That's when I found Automation Technologies, as recommended by someone at PMDX - another vendor of CNC components.

After purchasing nearly all of the components needed to build my own CNC machine, I felt compelled to post something here about those components and my experience with the folks at Automation Technologies - and to highly recommend them to anyone who is also building their own custom CNC machines. Their prices are absolutely great, and the components I have purchased have all been of top-quality;

I use the KL-7220 (72 volt, 20 amp) power supply to drive my steppers and it's excellent, it has proven to be perfect for providing power to my steppers and has a 36 volt output as well that I didn't expect but found great use for. The fact that it splits it's power output between two 10 amp sources has allowed me to balance my steppers according to their amperage needs. I highly recommend it!