588,525 active members*
6,369 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > masterCam training books

masterCam training books

I have access to Mastercam X2 on weekends (my son's seat from his job) I need to learn basic jobs because "the Kid" is just too busy to do them all.

Anyway, I'm a total noob at MC. I found these training books: http://www.techedu.com/Mastercam_Books.asp

Any recommendations on which to buy?

Karl

I can recommend the In House Solutions lathe tutorial. Clearly organized and good coverage of the material.

I had a hard time with the Valentino/Goldberg 2D Milling text. Lots of typos and command sequence errors. I think this would be a confusing text for beginners.

Can't help you with the others on the list.

Best regards.

Thanks, any problem starting with lathe instead of mill? I've read that CAM packages are more for mills than lathes.

I need to learn both.

Karl

Hmmm...

I've never thought about it. I spent many years manual machining and programming before moving to MasterCAM, and I began with the mill package; but I don't know why it would make any difference to start with the lathe.

Once past the machine set-up in lathe, it's pretty straight forward.

I didn't see The Mastercam handbooks 1 and 2 on that page. Those are my favorites and are used in many college courses and for Mastercam Certification.
    They can be found at emastercam.com, as mentioned above, anything by in-house solutions is probably good.
    Thanks, any problem starting with lathe instead of mill? I've read that CAM packages are more for mills than lathes.
    I need to learn both.