587,124 active members*
4,342 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > PWM control for B&D Grass Trimmer

Smile PWM control for B&D Grass Trimmer

Hi everyone,

I new here, and i realized there are lot of people here with very good knowledge of electronics and can help solve many difficult problems. Hope mine can be solved as well

You see, I have a Black and Decker Grass Trimmer GL300. It is operating at 10000 rpm...rated at 300W...takes 240V. Because of its extremely high revolution, it produces far too much vibration for me to hand hold it and is causing my hand to go numb and painful. Furthermore, my small patch of lawn has a very soft and thin kind of grass. My plan is to use PWM to cut down its speed to maybe 3000rpm, or better still have a variable control to adjust the speed of my trimmer according to my need.

I am a beginner and have a bit of electronics knowledge but certainly not enough to build my own PWM for grass trimmer. So, i hope some of you can point me to the right site for circuit or explain whether its possible or not. I tried searching but cant find any useful related topic...Is there a way to build a PWM circuit for this kind of equipment, or at least is there a product i can buy online to solve this problem?

Thank you ahead for any help, positive or negative suggestions, etc. All are welcomed!

At 300W 240V there are a few cheap commercial "universal motor speed controllers" you can buy. If I remember right Harbour Freight had a motor speed controller for about $39 (although that might be a 120v USA version).

As your motor is fairly small and speed control is not critical (and you don't need big torque for a whippersnipper) these cheap speed controllers should provide a ready made plug-in solution for you.

Easiest fix: Light dimmer switch.

Matt

Recent posting.
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...ontroller.html
    See last few posts for circuit.
    Al.