587,427 active members*
4,862 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9

    Incremental Vs Absolute mode

    I'm trying to setup the auto zero Probe and running into problems. From another thread I was able to conclude my problem dealt with incremental Vs absolute mode. (G91 vs G90). I tried coding a GetIJMode to find the current mode and reset to absolute if it was incremental.
    The problem I'm finding is GetIJMode is returning the IJMode set in the configuration panel and not the actual IJMode that is active.
    Also the IJMode indicator on the diagnostic page also shows the setting and not the actual mode.

    I'm running Mach 3 Mill Version R3.042.020

    Thanks Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    IJ mode is not G90 and G91. You're talking about two different settings.

    Off the top of my head I don't know how to tell whether you're in G90 or G91 mode??
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9

    Gerry,

    Thanks for streering me in the right direction. Here is the code to set the mode.

    MoveMode = GetOEMLED(49)
    If MoveMode <> 0 Then
    Code "G90"
    Code "(Mode was incremental)"
    End If

    Then to reset

    If MoveMode <> 0 Then
    Code "G91"
    Code "(resetting incremental mode)"
    End If

    The messages can be deleted. They were there for testing.

    Thanks Again. I think this solves my problem.

    By the way. A complete Newbie question. What is the difference between IJmode and co-ordinate mode?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    IJ mode is for arcs, it specifies the center point.

    When I posted before, I was looking for that LED number, but I think I was looking for a DRO by mistake.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1469
    Bob

    If you're interested I have rewritten my Zero Macro to take care of the G90 G91 issue.

    It can be found at this post, http://www.cnczone.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=257

    Greg

Similar Threads

  1. What is - Torque Mode? Position Mode? Speed/Velocity Mode?
    By sunmix in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 01-20-2024, 10:34 AM
  2. Subroutine and Absolute/Incremental
    By VWbmx in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 08:09 PM
  3. Offsets: Changing between absolute and incremental
    By MotorCityMinion in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 05:57 PM
  4. Absolute or Incremental
    By mikede in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 12:02 AM
  5. Absolute and Incremental
    By ACME in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 11:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •