588,227 active members*
5,070 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Need some help getting started on a CNC project

Need some help getting started on a CNC project

I'm trying to get started on a CNC project, I’m hoping you guys can help me out.

I’m a structural engineer, but I don’t have any experience with this sort of detailed machine work.

I would like to make some replacements of rare and expensive gun parts by reverse engineering the existing parts.

The gun I want to make parts for is very similar to the AR15, it's called the FN FNC. FN doesn't supply spare parts, so there are none at all.

So I have a few questions, any help or advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

1. Laser scanning

Suppose I wanted to have a part laser scanned for reverse engineering. Is there any company you might recommend? Cost is a consideration because the parts would be produced in low volume, say less than 25 pieces.

2. CAD software

At work we generally use Microstation and to a lesser degree AutoCAD. I don’t know how to use them, I make sketches and give them to a drafter.

I could probably get a copy one of them installed on my office computer from our work site license.

What program would you recommend?

Is there anyone I could send the existing parts to and have them create the CADD files?

3. Parts fabrication

Just so you know, I’m not going to do anything that breaks any BATFE laws, or any laws at all for that matter. I'm extremely careful about that sort of thing.

That having been said, are there any shops that could do a good job of producing parts? The part I’d like to do first would be similar to an AR15 upper or lower, maybe out of aircraft aluminum or better yet stainless steel. The lower for the gun I have in mind is flat sided and looks like it was carved out of a block of aluminum. I’d also like to replicate the folding stock and some small parts like hammers.