588,234 active members*
4,603 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

need opinions 5x10 build

I am a newbie to the forums not to plasma systems. I have ran various large industrial machines for many years. I have been studying a lot lately on building my own smaller scale home shop machine. I have started tinkering in my cad program and have a few early design pics I'd like to get input on. Please feel free to ask any questions. I plan to be able to cut 5x10 sheets up to 3/4 for the most part.

Attachment 198336Attachment 198338Attachment 198340Attachment 198342

Thanks, Eddie

If this particular design or a close variation of it is used I guestimate the total gantry weight to be <250lbs. My question is, will a single NEMA 23 stepper motor handle moving that much weight? Or will I need a NEMA 34?

I recommend a Nema 34 on each side of your gantry. You will need some acceleration.

Are you going to have complicated parts that are long? If so I would recommend going to a servo drive. You dont want to be cutting along it loose a few steps here and there and you miss cut a hole by 3/16 of an inch or more and have to go back and try to fix it. Just my opinion

Quote Originally Posted by Arthurmetal View Post
    I recommend a Nema 34 on each side of your gantry. You will need some acceleration.
    Is there a certain weight these motors are rated for? I could change the materials and drop the weight considerably on the gantry. If the cost of materials will exceed the cost of going up on the motor size I will just stick with the original materials and go with the larger motors.

Quote Originally Posted by jason_alex View Post
    Are you going to have complicated parts that are long? If so I would recommend going to a servo drive. You dont want to be cutting along it loose a few steps here and there and you miss cut a hole by 3/16 of an inch or more and have to go back and try to fix it. Just my opinion