588,215 active members*
4,301 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Uncategorised CAD Discussion > Academic Solid Edge - limitations??

Academic Solid Edge - limitations??

Hi,

I've just started a CAD course and Solid Edge is the chosen product. I have (almost) built my own CNC router and thought formal CAD/CAM training would be useful for me(gov't subsidised ...v cheap)

As a student I am entitled to have my own academic version of Solid Edge but it cannot be used for commerical purposes.

As a hobbyist, I'll want to take SE generated output and put it into a CAM package.

Could anyone please tell me if I am about to become very disappointed???

I'm hopeful that I will be able to use SE models on my own machine without too many hassles.

Your thoughts and options much appreciated.

Andy
    Drat, imperfection has finally stopped working!!

I cant answer you question, but I am very curious myself how to take my cad parts created in SE and see them being made on the router I am building. I dont quite understand what is involved in between the model and the machine. I dont think my ignorance is going to last long though.

How do you like using solid edge?

Something tells me you wont be dissapointed, SE is an excelent 3d program and is used very sucsessfully in many companys.

I am anxious to hear the answer to your question.

Someone here is sure to lay out the details for us.

Too early to answer on SE....... had 1 hour tuition so far!!

MY understandindg is that CAD output has a range of filetypes that are processible as input to CAM packages.

CAM packages configure the tools and cutting paths (speeds, direction, waste removal, etc) and create G code.

G code files are input to the controller (eg Mach 3) which translates into pulse instructions to the geckos which are like amplifiers. The geckos control the voltage in and generate high current pulses to the steppers / servos.