587,892 active members*
3,590 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Ready to buy but need help

After months of scouring the cnczone forums, I'm finally ready to make my big purchase. I'd like to buy a cnc mill, but there is one factor I just can't decide on....a used (and old) VMC, or a CNC "knee" mill.
    I work as an engineer in an industry which rewards my creativity and also gives me a market to sell my newest dodads.
    With that said, i don't expect to put a cnc mill in my garage and watch the money roll in, however I do have a somewhat unique situation; My boss will more than likely (well actually he will) award me the rights to produce small brackets etc... used daily by our shop. This will by no means amount to thousands of pieces per order....but doing multiple small jobs will likely amount to 500-800 pieces per month. Most everything we manufacture is made in 6061. Very limited production in 7075 and 2024 (on the order of 100 small pieces per year). Some basic mounting brackets are made from CR/HR steel up to 3/8" thick.
    Most items we make have 1 to 5 thru holes. Some tapping will be required though (up to 3/4). Designs are generally simple....they could be made from a 2D sketch all day.
    Generally products would fit easily into a 10X10X5 work envelope....however some of the more lucrative pieces we pay more for would require something on the order of 30X20X5.
    I'd like the ability to fixture multiple small pieces at once if at all possible.
    Almost everything we have milled is from 1/2" - 3/4" thick extruded bar stock.....our parts have various radii on the profiles just to keep them from being square and boxy (simply for style). We fillet/shoulder mill/round/chamfer almost all profile edges.
    Accuracy is typically on the order of +/- .005.
    Our current vendor (another home based shop) can't hold this so I'd win more work if I could.