588,556 active members*
4,862 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Novakon > Which Novakon would work for me?

Which Novakon would work for me?

Which Novakon Mill a good choice for me?
    I am trying to figure out so I can compare it to the Tormach I am also looking at.

I am a knife maker - I have been doing it for years, but all the old fashioned way. I am familiar with sandblasting / tumbling for the desired finishes, heat treating, etc. I have never ran a CNC machine so this is all new to me. I am a software programmer by day so I think the learning the software will be the easiest part. The hardware side though - I am not so sure of.

I am looking to make the parts similar to this in the picture. I am not the designer of the parts in the picture but it is the closest thing I have to help explain my desired result. My design is only lives in the computer right now.

The red outline are the perimeter cuts - the 2 handle scales on the left are 0.150 6AI4V titanium the blade is 0.125 S30V steel. The green are drilled and countersunk. The yellow is the blade bevel I think about a 11 degree angle. At this time I can only see me doing 300-400 a year to give you an idea of machine/tooling cycles.

My questions are:

1. What type of machine can do what I want to do here? I don't really know much about the terminology of the CNC world.

2. I want to produce these all in house - What type of machine do I need? A 2 axis, 3 axis, 4 axis? I want to find what is the best to duplicate the pictured with the least variance.

3. What type of tooling is needed?

Any help/suggestions is much appreciated. Of course I am not interested in over-buying or purchasing anything I do not need to produce what I want. I thank you all in advance for your input - I have searched and not found the answer myself or similar questions.

N8o,

What is your budget?

Jeff...