588,665 active members*
5,395 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

5 axis machining

Hello everyone, I recently got a full time job programming a Haas VF2 in an Argentine factory. I am a Mechanical Engineering student, and there is nobody around in the shop to help me in CAM programming matters. So far I have done mostly 3 axis milling using Delcam for SolidWorks and FeatureCAM, and only one 4 axis work, that had to be programmed manually, since I am also new to CAM.
    The thing is the machine has a TRT 160 rotary table, and it is installed in such a way that the A axis rotates around the Y axis. As you can imagine this creates great limitation regarding Y axis movement when using the rotary table.
    I would like to know if anyone has programmed 5 sided machining parts or simultaneous 5 axis with this configuration, and if you could give me some tips to change a .cnc post processor file configured for a regular trunnion aligned with the X axis.
    I personally think the easy way would be to install the rotary table the "right" way, but the shop already has many parts it manufactures on a daily basis that need a large vise or plate, so I don't think that suggestion would be well received by the owner and the operators.
    I will provide photos and post files soon, thanks in advance for the help.
    Greetings.
    Luis

Sorry I can't help answer your real question, but one correction to what you said. If the axis revolves about the Y, it is a B axis. It doesn't matter if it is the first rotary axis. By definition, A revolves around the X, B around the Y, and C around the Z. Sounds like you need to make a post for XYZB, especially if you currently have one for XYZA now.
    CAD, CAM, Scanning, Modelling, Machining and more. http://www.mcpii.com/3dservices.html

Quote Originally Posted by mcphill View Post