587,997 active members*
3,798 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    X3 and Heidenhain

    I'm trying to get a new to me 97 BP VMC1000 up and running. My programmer had an ISO PP that he used the update util in MC to bring up to date(V9 from older CD to X3 with postupdater and control def.). We couldn't get to far with that one. He also had the conversational PP that we can get a little farther on. Some code samples to follow. Seems it's the tool change that's the biggest problem. We can get this one to load and run,

    10 BEGIN PGM 0 INCH
    20 TOOL CALL 4 Z S534
    30 L R F M06
    40 L X+10 Y+10 R F MAX M
    50 L X-1.4442 Y+.149 R F MAX M03
    60 L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    70 L Z+.1 R F MAX M
    80 L Z+0 R F64 M
    90 L Y+.3058 R F M
    100 CC X-0.7952 Y0.3058
    110 C X-.7952 Y+.9548 DR- R F M
    120 L X+0 R F M
    130 CC X0. Y0.4548
    140 C X+.5 Y+.4548 DR- R F M
    150 L Y+0 R F M
    160 CC X0. Y0.
    170 C X+0 Y-.5 DR- R F M
    180 L X-.7952 R F M
    190 CC X-0.7952 Y0.149
    200 C X-1.4442 Y+.149 DR- R F M
    210 L Z+.1 R F M
    220 L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    230 L R F M25
    240 END PGM 0 INCH
    it errors out at line 30 saying the spindle drive is not on.

    This one runs fine, it came on the machine when I bought it, but even if a different tool # is in the spindle, it won't change to the tool called in this program. I've edited the program by hand to several different #'s and it just goes right past the tool call. Any thoughts on what we're doing wrong?

  2. #2

    Getting somewhere still need help.

    Found a different post on a an older MC cd, works ok in some aspects.
    This portion, the first tool works ok;

    BEGIN PGM 0 INCH
    TOOL CALL 3 Z S4500
    L R F M06
    L X+0 Y+0 R F MAX M
    L X-2.4465 Y-.55 R F MAX M03
    L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    L Z-.25 R F MAX M8
    L Z-.3643 R F64 M

    Makes the tool change, turns the spindle on, turns the coolant on.

    Next tool changes, turns coolant on but does not turn the spindle on;
    C X+2.4345 DR+ R F M
    L X+2.452 R F M
    L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    TOOL CALL 2 Z S4000
    L R F M06
    L X-2.461 Y-.55 R F MAX M
    L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    L Z+.1 R F MAX M8
    L Z-.025 R F64 M
    L X-2.511 R F150 M
    CC X-2.45 Y-0.55
    C X-2.389 DR+ R F M
    CC X-2.45 Y-0.55
    C X-2.511 DR+ R F M
    L X-2.461 R F M
    L Z-.05 R F64 M

    and then the drilling cycle is backwards I think,
    Puts the parameters before the tool call or doesn't properly call the cycle after the tool call, nor does it turn the spindle on.

    CC X2.45 Y-0.55
    C X+2.5125 DR+ R F M
    CC X2.45 Y-0.55
    C X+2.3875 DR+ R F M
    L X+2.4375 R F M
    L Z+.25 R F MAX M
    CYCL DEF 1.0 PECKING
    CYCL DEF 1.1 SET UP -0.1
    CYCL DEF 1.2 DEPTH 1.
    CYCL DEF 1.3 PECKG -0.1
    CYCL DEF 1.4 DWELL 0.
    CYCL DEF 1.5 F41
    L Z0.1 R F MAX M
    L Z0.1 R F MAX M8
    L Z0.1 R F MAX M99
    TOOL CALL 12 Z S1711
    L R F M06
    L X-2.45 Y-.55 R F MAX M
    L R F M25
    END PGM 0 INCH

    Is there anyone who can point me in the right direction in editing this post? I have never edited a post before, not really a programmer, I outsource it to a guy who has never needed to do it either. I found several other posts in a google search. They have some nice features people have added(tool lists, etc.) but are not even as close as this one.


    Edit: I had my programmer send me the files to post. I've attached them for anyone who would like to see them. Remove the .txt I had to add it to upload the files.

    MPHEID-1.control.txt

    MPHEID-1.MMD.txt

    MPHEID-1.pst.txt

    500BOTTESTMPH1.H.txt This is the program as written in whole.

    Edit # 2
    When he posts each sub program/tool individually, they do post correctly(not the drill program, that doesn't change).

    Anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    0

  4. #4

    Thanks!

    Thanks Lazy I will. The machine is down right now (spindle took a dump) but when it's back up I will.

    Edit; Lazy, is this straight out of the box from MC or have you tweaked it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinV_MEI View Post
    Thanks Lazy I will. The machine is down right now (spindle took a dump) but when it's back up I will.

    Edit; Lazy, is this straight out of the box from MC or have you tweaked it?
    this is "original" but i can send my tweaked post

  6. #6
    Thanks, I'll try it as it is, but just curious, what brand/model machine are you using your tweaked PP on?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinV_MEI View Post
    Thanks, I'll try it as it is, but just curious, what brand/model machine are you using your tweaked PP on?
    this is the machine ; Raid-XL 3 axis vertical HSM machines from FPT INDUSTRIE - Power units

    my post:GENERIC HEIDENHAIN_TNC530 3X MILL.zip

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23
    Does anyone have 4x PP for heidenhain?
    Do you think that these pps can work with TNC 620?

  9. #9
    X4? Try the ones I posted. Let us know what they do and we'll see if we can help tweak them. It's tough for anyone to comment unless you post what you've tried and what the results were. Use the update post utility.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23

    PPS work fine for now

    Machine with TNC620 isnt delivered yet to our company so I cant be sure is it working or not. So I'm preparing on dry xD
    I just tried some tests with TNC620 software for PC. 4 now... seams good.

    Can you tell me what are the major settings to be configured for other machine? In my case it will be Fehlman Picomax 56 TOP.

    I will spend more time testing in next few days...

  11. #11
    Unfortunately I couldn't begin to guess. Not even remotely familiar with that machine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23

    Editing pps

    I'm using MasterCAM X5... an all files should be *.xxx-5 extension.
    Every time I start SolidWorks with MasterCam in startup I get warning msgs that update is needed. I did update but still its showing up. I think its because mastercam load files which are specified in pp, so I think I should change those links to files from MPHEID-1.MMD to MPHEID-1.MMD-5, same with *.control file... but I cant find those lines.
    Also I dont know what viewer I should use to open *.MMD an *.control , cause when I open it with Notepad ... some encoding isnt good.

  13. #13
    You want to open the control and mmd files in X5. They are not text files. They should update within X5, not certain how, don't have x5.

    Let's start from the beginning. Leave Solidworks out of the picture. Just use X5. Can you create a new X5 part file?

    If so make some simple geometry. a few points, maybe a rectangle.
    If not you'll have to talk to your reseller to find out what was not installed properly.

    Once you make your geometry let's install a machine. What id available in the machine definition manager?

Similar Threads

  1. Heidenhain TNC 530
    By Matth3w in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2010, 07:16 AM
  2. Heidenhain DRO
    By mmri1 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 04:34 PM
  3. heidenhain DRO
    By mmri1 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 02:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •