588,410 active members*
5,118 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Employment Opportunity / RFQ (Request for Quote). > Employment Opportunity > Mold for investment casting - Need 3d drawing only
Page 1 of 2 12

Mold for investment casting - Need 3d drawing only

Im in the planning process of having some of our parts investment casted, this is our first time using this process and unfortunately the upfront tooling costs are very high from the casting companies. I figured if I could machine my own mold it would save us a lot of money! We have a HAAS VF2 in house that we use for other items but I have no experience making a mold or designing one. I have a link to an IGS file and would like to get quotes on just the design. I will ultimately need to import this into Mastercam X so I can create the toopaths.

Any questions please contact me.

File

Thanks,
    Jim

I see some conical surfaces, and some lines, but I'm not familiar with what I'm looking at, so it doesn't really make sense to me. Is this like a flat plate, with raised bosses and conical through holes?
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Its actually an exhaust manifold flange for a car, the port holes transition from round to an oval shape. It seems to come up fine as a solid model in Solidworks but im not sure what your using. The wireframe might be a little wacky, ill get you some actual pictures of the machined part shortly.

Jim

Is this a header flange?It should be a reasonable priced die if it is .

The machined part right now is made from 3/4" thick 304 SS, as you can imagine this takes almost 2 hours per part and eats up the tooling. Ive got casting quotes for around $20 per part which is amazing, just need a mold

Attached are a few pics of the machined piece.

Thanks,
    Jim