587,224 active members*
3,713 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

start of a good project

a little history about me before we get started. i have been a machinist for about a total of 5 monts now. i spent 3 months at a shop that was in shelton wa before they laied me off due to finacial restraints. i was one of 4 people who got it and they said they would hire us back but 4 months later it didnt happen and i ran out of money and had to move in with some family in lynnwood wa. 2 days after i move i had a job at another machine shop. that was last month. still there and loving it.

ok i have done some research and decided that doing a retro fit to a mill just wont work for me. im going to kneed something a little bigger so i wont out grow it so fast. i was thinking about building a gantry style mill but i hear they are plagued with rigidly problems. and what i want to do with it and what they are capable of seem to not fit together so i have a issue to figure out. here is the things i want to be able to do with it eventually.

-must be able to cut up to 304 ss
    -48in x 24in y ??in z
    -total foot print not much bigger then table
    -upgradeable to auto tool change
    -upgrade to 4 and 5 axis
    -able to use a .5 em and a 1.5 fm
    -able to make gears

now the way i figure it i have 2 choices
    choice 1. i make a gantry style and use uber heavy duty parts and say screw it to the fast rapids.
    or
    choice 2. i build a horizontal style machine. would solve a few problems but create a few of its own.