588,434 active members*
5,719 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Haas VF-2 Jog Handle Vibrations

Haas VF-2 Jog Handle Vibrations

Hi all!

I am a newbie in this great forum and in CNC machining in general and I need your help!

We have purchased a Haas VF-2 4 months ago and we have started doing some tests on it just last month.

A potential problem we encountered is that most of the time we use the jog handle to move the table or the z-axis the machine vibrates too much.
    We have communicated with the Haas local dealer and they say that this is normal and happens because of the servo mechanism of the table, however when this happens we cannot even use an indicator to zero set a part.
    Has anyone had a similar problem?

Any suggestions?

Thank you for your help!

My VF-4 does the same thing when travel is set at .100/notch
    Have you tried selecting the smallest increment of travel

I would say, yes, this is normal, because when using the handle, the motors are starting / stopping quickly. For indicating, use the jog lock feature for a smooth move along an axis.

Ed

I think this problem does no appear in smaller increments of travel, but still it is a problem because it makes jog handling completely unreliable in some increments of travel.
    The local Haas dealer suggested that when the vibration starts switch instantly the jog handle to handle one of the 2 rest axes and the vibration stops for a while but then it starts again. Can that be normal?
    Actually, we are afraid that the machine is not correctly set up with regard to the floor...

Sounds like your servos are hunting. They need to be tuned. Have your Haas guy come look at it.

No, they said that it is normal...

Nickitec,