587,997 active members*
1,719 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Material Hold down 101

Ok, I am new to all of this metalworking. I have machined several small parts and it was a pain to figure out how to hold them down and mill. I am sure I was doing it wrong. So here I have a new part I am about to mill in the next week or so. Small 3" x 3.5" x 3/8" which I have some 3/8" x 3" stock on hand.

Here is a picture of the part I want to create.

Machine: Sherline 5400 CNC

I was thinking of setting it on top of some 1/4" Scrap and just clamping it down. But how do I machine to the profile of it? Should I use some 1/2" material and clamp in vise so that 3/8" is exposed. What is the correct way of doing this?
    Donald

Drill the holes first then use these to bolt it down to a piece of material that is clamped to the table. Then machine your perimeter.

So I clamp the peice down and I drill the holes, the two biggest, 10-32 and 1/8". So after I drill, I need to drill again in my scrap for the bolt I want to use and tap it, then bolt it all down and clamp the whole thing down.

Then how do I locate the exact 0,0 of the part so the rest is machined at the right place.
    Donald

I am new to this but would the following work?

The following are some newbie thoughts but it might work and someone else can fill in the details.

Step1: Drill and tap a hole in a plate of scrap that you bolt to the table. (i.e. this is now your simple fixture plate)
    Step2: Place the stock on top of the fixture plate and hold it in place with strap clamps (i.e. clamp it down).

Step2: Drill the holes that you can access.

Step3: Bolt it down using the holes you just created and since the fixture plate is under the part you are ready to go. Don't remove the strap clamps until you have the plate bolted down (this way it will not move when you bolt it down).

Step4: Now that it is bolted down you can remove the strap clamps.

Step5: Machine the profile