588,587 active members*
13,965 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > CNC Wire Foam Cutter Machines > Foam Cutting Power Supply Questions - Non CNC

Question Foam Cutting Power Supply Questions - Non CNC

Sorry this isn't CNC related but hope you folks will take pity on me and still answer my questions.
    I am a high power amateur rocketeer and need to use a foam cutter to build a nose cone for an 8", 1/2 scale Patriot.
    I built a foam cutting power supply using the info at-
    http://nsrca.org/technical/tip_trick...wer_supply.htm
    The bow that I scrapped together is ≈24".
    Using a fairly heavy SS leader wire for fishing for the cutting wire.
    Tinkered around with it cutting pink rigid foam insulation.
    Worked OK but when I'd set the selector switch to "Long" I'd blow fuses quickly.
    Figured that would happen.
    Last Saturday I was making a small, 4" dia x 9" long cone and got almost all the way through it quite well but then fuses started blowing when the power switch was turned on.
    Tried 1-1/2 amp and 2 amp fuses and they still fry instantly.
    Figure something inside is cooked and I'm not an electronics guy.
    Anyway, question is, can I just run 110v AC through the power switch, to the transformer and to ground and run the 24v AC from the transformer to the pot and then the bow without all the other stuff?
    Just take the extra out.
    Also, the pot only gives me variable power through about 1/2 of it's knob turn.
    Wired to one set of contacts I get no variation (very little anyway) from about 8 o'clock to 12, then from there to about 4 o'clock it ramps up.
    Hook to the other set of contacts it is just backwards.
    Anything I can put in to get a smooth ramp up through out the turn.

Thanks much,

Greg

Greg,