587,223 active members*
3,241 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Servo sizing + Cost effective

Servo sizing + Cost effective

Hi I'm pretty new to the servo side of CNC, however, I have built at least two working CNC using steppers and linuxCNC.

I need some help to actually size up SERVO + DRIVERS + CONTROLLERS or as a KIT if anyone knows any?

any help will be greatly appreciated, the current machine built is as follows:

its a 5-axis machine, with the 4th & 5th (2-axis spindle head) using timing gear of 20 teeth and a 4" (100mm) slew bearing with ext. gear.
    each of the 4th and 5th axis, being driven by a NEMA 24 stepper with uStep @ 10 to give higher precision at rotations, but also finer resolution and OK torque. the 4th and 5th axis can be directly driven by the NEMA 24 stepper, if space is a concern.

the Y-axis uses 2 servo, one on each side.
    Its a Gantry system, where the top moves, and the top weights in a max at 125kg (full aluminium extrusion + Hiwin linear rails + PMI ball screw + servos).
    so each servo on the Y-axis needs to move say around 70kg ~ 80kg max of weight.

the X-axis uses 1 servo.
    It moves the aluminium Z-frame, the spindle, and the 4th and 5th axis head along, weighing in about 70kg max (full aluminium extrusion + Hiwin Linear Rails + PMI ball screw + servo + 4th & 5th head + Spindle)

the Z-axis uses 1 servo.
    it moves up & down, carrying with it a max weight of 50kg (full aluminium extrusion + 4th & 5th axis + spindle)

Friction coefficion based on PMI manual is 0>0.005>1.
    Lead & Pitch = 10mm since its single start ball screw (otherwise pitch = lead x number of starts)

All axes run on Hiwin Linear Rails which says will reduce weight by 40% if lubricated regularly (once a month) within 2~4 years (100kg will require 60kg of force pushing)