588,033 active members*
5,584 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question Feedback on an Emco ET-420 CNC Lathe

I was wondering if anyone out there has had any exposure to an Emco ET-420 CNC Lathe. We completed some test runs with very good success. We also have an Emco 332 we are satisfied with but this is a different animal. We are thinking of purchasing one and cannot find any feedback besides the reference list from the vendor. The references all have good things to say but if I were a salesman I would only give out the names of my good references too. Any feedback would be helpful.

Hey Gunner, I was a factory Emco service engineer for a few years and also worked on them after that with a distributor. I just looked the 420 up and it is as I supected based on the 425 platform. Any info you want reguarding the machine look up references to the 425. only difference will be the control which is now a 840d rather than an 810. I have a LOT of experience with the 425. Overall it is not a bad machine, It has it's quirks like any other. It is not a beast, it does well with medium to light work. This machine is an air hog, feed it well, I would reccomend an at minimum 10 gal. air tank an accumulator prior the lathe. With all the mechanical crap going on you need to use a warm-up program to get everything settled in if you are doing high precision work. I can dance in an 810 but the 840d is a control I have limited experience with. for a programer the control should be a dream. From a maintenance standpoint I did not get enough experience with it to have any usefull feedback. The Seimens motors and drives are great, one of my favorites from a service point of view. If you have any direct questions about the base machine tool please feel free to contact me as I know a considerable amount about it having to go through the debugging process of a new modle at the time. I hope this helps some.

Dave